April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Guru

by BrothersT - Jam Entry

The Guru is a mysterious desert-dweller who guides animals from captivity with his spiritual powers!

** POST-COMPO VERSION **
The post-compo version included in the download features a different title card and loading and credits graphics, for those who don't like staring at blank screens. That's the only difference!

** AND A MESSAGE FOR OUR PLAYERS **
We went for something quite minimalist in terms of art style and puzzle solving. Art was still a bitch though.

We a had a great time on this. Hope you enjoy it! And congrats to everyone who finished! Let's us know what you think and we'll be sure to check out your game too!

Have fun!

Joe and Rob

** NEW TWITTER AND FACEBOOK ACCOUNTS FOR BROTHERST **

https://twitter.com/BrothersThomson
https://www.facebook.com/BrothersThomson

[UPDATE - 30/04/13 04:44]
Fixed missing audio library.

[UPDATE - 03/05/13 00:57]
Fixed errors experienced on some PCs where game would freeze and crash on loading. Also added post-compo version with title screen and credits.

[NOTICE]
To anyone experiencing errors, could you please upload the contents of the simi_log.txt file to pastebin, then post the link in the comments. Thank you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
Graphics(Jam)4.67
#8Overall(Jam)4.16
#22Humor(Jam)3.76
#23Innovation(Jam)3.98
#25Mood(Jam)3.93
#32Theme(Jam)4.14
#43Fun(Jam)3.64
#51Audio(Jam)3.81

Comments

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

The download link does not work

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

Fixed!

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26am

Fun puzzles, first puzzle with the fish I don't quite understand, succeeded at it once though. The dog in the car is the best one, fantastic!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Good job making this, it's very unique

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

all 5 stars! =D

like, the most incredible game I see around here!
the art is amazing and the concet as well

really nice job and congratulations!

(just dont know what to do with the fish D= )

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Very nice, and very relaxing. Really unique, minimal and great. The fish one was hard though, I couldn't solve that. I would love to see more of this kind of game.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Can't play, have a mac.

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:10pm

The game crashes as soon as I try to launch it. I'm running Windows 7 and not quite sure what's wrong.

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Hi hissssssssss,

Do you get an error message?

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Cool! Wish it didn't grab fullscreen right away. And... tell uss how to solve the fissshhh...

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Haha, for the fish you've got to think ultra minimalist! We're not telling! (not until lots more people have tried at least)

Rex Peppers says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Can't play windows games :-(

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

really amazing game, but I cannot do that fish puzzle at all

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I'm running Windows 7 on an iMac in Parallels 8... the .exe crashes when I run it.
The screenshots are pretty though.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Good game! Couldn't figure out the fish one, and the others took me a while, but a good game!

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Sorry guys, we will get onto the crashes asap!

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Very nice game. Loved the minimalist art style. The puzzles were very hard to solve. The dog one took me the longest to solve, but I got them all.

For anyone wondering how to solve the fish puzzle, think about the theme and control scheme.

soerensen3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01pm

crashes at my girlfriends laptop (windows 7 home premium) but works on my computer (win7 professional). No errormessage but the screen stays white. Then a message that by windows that the application crashed. amazing game though but really high level of difficulty.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:36pm

The fish puzzle is really hard to solve. The other two puzzles are really easy but I got sad about the dog...
The game takes some time to load (looks like it hangs on the white screen) but after ~5 seconds it starts. Great graphics and sound.

@BrothersT: Sometimes our game on FireFox takes 2-3 seconds to load but it runs fine. Please, try again.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:35am

I don't get any audio, also I cannot figure out what to do... stuck at the meditating guy with the cactus right at start, none of my input seems to do anything :/

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:48am

Really? No there is no audio on the meditating guy, but there is in the levels. Stupid question but have you tried clicking on one of the symbols? Which exe did you run?

magnpeas says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:11am

Crashes for me :(

Andromatta says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

Really nailed it! The animation is incredible and charming, even if a bit morbid. Definitely left wanting more!

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:30am

@magnpeas - Could you please upload the log file as detailed in the description. It would be very helpful for us! Thanks.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Impressive! I had to read through the comments to find out about the fish. Very nice!

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:00pm

That was brilliant.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40pm

@magnpeas - Could you please upload the log file as detailed in the description. It would be very helpful for us! Thanks.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

May 3, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Awesome artwork! The fly one was the best, I beat the fish one, but I couldn't figure out what to with the dog.

celiacjoe says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very good game.

Mesene says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Loved the art! also entertainig. Nice entry

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Very nice art. Also simple but clever riddles.
Attention: Spoiler: I don't get how the guru guides the fly from captivity. The first fly dies and the 2nd just flies away. The one that gets away wasn't hold captive?

bitbof says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:11am

Great art and sound! I'll have to sleep over that fish level...maybe then I get the deep insight to solve it.

Jeremias says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33am

Oh my god, the fly. I never laughed that much while playing a ludum dare game. Totally my humor. Nice animations anyway.

Dohan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Excelent puzzles and beautiful art. I really loved it!

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Wow, wow, wow. What a fantastic entry! I'm so impressed by the quality of the animation and artwork. I don't know if you were inspired by old HyperCard games but I totally got brought back to days of playing Cosmic Osmo.

Are says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:24pm

It reminds me somehow Machinarium. Anyway, beautiful game.

barkergames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:38pm

I kept getting a white screen then the game would crash!

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:48pm

@barker games - If you could upload the log file as described in the description, it would really help us. Thanks!

fishbrain says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Beautifully illustrated, elegant gameplay. Superb.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

@BrothersT I don't remember seeing any symbols... tried both exe's :/ I'll try again later today, and report back.

goerp says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Five star column!
Although the fish was weird, I tried and tried and then I succeded.
Looking at your previous entries I saw that I played all those too. But this one for me is your best!

May 5, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Got it working! Still didn't see any symbols (I assume there are supposed to be some on the screen with the meditating guy?), I finally got through by randomly clicking around the screen. Loved it once I got into the puzzles!!

Jorjon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Amazing game. Make a longer one! For the fish, I was stuck and then ALT+TABbed here to know if someone got the answer, then I heard it was solved.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:40am

Awesome animation. Great graphics work. I particulary love the dog "level".

TurboDindon says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:09am

I can't launch the game. :'(

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:46am

Loved the graphics and atmosphere! The puzzles were a little too hard. I'd like to see something bigger! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Awesome awesome game. Well crafted and amazingly animated! Bravo!

BrothersT says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Thank you everyone for your kind comments, and taking the time to play our entry. It's very much appreciated :)

@Jorjon - Haha! That's hilarious XD I didn't consider that solution.

@TurboDindon - Could you please upload the simi_log.txt file to pastebin and post the link here? Several people have had problems with launching the game, but no one has given us any clue as to why.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Hahaha! Solved all the puzzles. Probably the best artwork I've seen so far in these games. I mean, really, how do you do it? Great puzzles, great humor, altogether feels very polished.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I mean, really, I love all the interactions and red herrings, especially in the dog puzzle.

BrothersT says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

Thanks puzzle! If anyone is interested, our game was reviewed on indiegames.com recently!

http://indiegames.com/2013/05/freeware_pick_guru_a_cryptic_t.html

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I liked everything in graphics, the game is very detailed. But it can be disorientating at first. At the fish level I was clicking randomly for a really long time. The dog was easier, it`s the only level I solved with actually thinking. Couldn`t understand what happened to flies... was the second one dead?

BrothersT says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:48pm

The game is all about paying close attention to the details and drawing the logical conclusion. If you were clicking randomly for a really long time and nothing was happening maybe that should tell you something.

With the flies, there is the one inside the jar which you control and the other one is outside the jar, alive (you may have gathered, nothing you do will effect that one - so it's safe to assume that it's not involved in the puzzle). Try to think about the way the game is designed and what those design choices might say about the puzzle.

Sorry I can't be more specific but they are lateral thinking puzzles - it's not meant to be obvious :) Trust me though, there are logical solutions to each, just like the dog one, where if you observe the dog's behavior, the controls, the environment and sound, you can determine what the answer might be - we tried to do everything we could to help the player without just spelling it out for them. Some people solve them all in 10 minutes, others have taken an hour or more.

Good luck! :)

BrothersT says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Oh and with the fly one - if it was the ending you didn't understand then I'm not sure what you found unclear. I don't really know how to explain it any better without giving the answer away to other people.

If you (or anyone) would like to have the solution for a puzzle they're confused you can email us at brothersthomson@gmail.com :)

Jun 26, 2013 @ 7:47pm

game crashes when i open it...tried running on compatibility mode as well..
the log text shows empty......however several errors on the cmd screen .....
running on win 7 ultimate.. onboard intel gfx /2gb ram/intel dual core cpu..

Jun 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

after troubleshooting compatibility...
error ... the file "sprite.scene.simi" does not exist

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]