April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Onion Harvester

by cacciatc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* Arrow keys move you around.
* Harvest onions with the space-bar.
* You can double jump by hitting up twice.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#487Humor2.32
#489Graphics3.12
#604Audio2.63
#843Fun2.67
#1027Overall2.70
#1113Mood2.24
#1266Theme2.53
#1327Innovation1.69

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

The graphics were simple, but better pixel art than I could do. The gameplay was pretty simple and the game was short, but the controls and collisions felt good.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

The subtle flourishes like the jump animation make this for me. The audio is nice too. The platforms were difficult since the player didn't seem to rest on them physics wise though.

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

Fun game (and hard)

I'll have to come back to it, kept dying on the second level. Sooo close on those block jumps.. soo close

nice work!

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

I like the music.. what is that, a harmonium?? And I like that it's over in 5 minutes because I have 1700+ games to get through =/

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

"And I like that it's over in 5 minutes because I have 1700+ games to get through...."

That may be the best comment I've seen on a game here :)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

The controls feel a bit sluggish, but I like harvesting onions!

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice! The character control feels a bit sluggish and the huge white background hurts my eyes, but it’s a good game otherwise. I liked the moving platforms passage and the hard to reach onions in the first level.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Neat little platformer, though I had some difficulties controlling him with any precision.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22am

Strega:
Cool game. I loved the effect you have for when the player revives.

(this is a team account)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Such a difficult life the onion farmer has! :) I enjoyed the mellow music and the plentiful amount of checkpoints given. The only gripe I have is that the moving platforms seemed to have some odd physics.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:49am

Nice !

Tifu says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Good but short game. The moving platforms don't seem to work too well though, I had to hold the direction to move with them, and in the area where you have 4 moving platforms at one time, and no background reference images, it's a little hard to tell which way they are going/when to jump/etc =/
Nice soundtrack.

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Love the onion harvesting.

angelk says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:10am

I like the bounce animation. The linear acceleration feels off, but the double jump feels pretty fun. I like that the jumping velocity is still applied even if he hits the ceiling.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]