April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life of Colonies

by Overv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Given the theme "Minimalism", I decided to create a minimalistic strategy game where the rules of Conway's Game of Life determine the lifetime of units. The twist here is that YOU get to control your own colony of life forms and beat the other three.

If you feel like you have no idea what you're doing (which is understandable), have a look at these patterns:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway's_Game_of_Life

Try to get a feel for how patterns act and you will be able to create patterns that "walk" to the enemies to finish them off and take over enemy units!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Overall3.82
#156Innovation3.68
#188Theme3.96
#288Fun3.29
#363Graphics3.32
#487Audio2.81
#566Mood2.86
#714Humor2.00
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Awesome!

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Very great game. Its fits the theme very well and looks amazing.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Finnally my knowledge of conways game of life has a practical application.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Life_of_colonies.exe is not a valid windows32 exe.... could you provide just the love file?

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Oh, I see, 64 bit executable (bad idea this... there are still a ton of us with win xp)

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Great atmosphere, the generation counter in the background was nice touch. Some ambient sound would've great, but anyway a great execution.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I really enjoyed this! It was a little hard to predict what would happen based on my actions so I didn't feel I was 100% in control, but once you get aggressive and start attacking other colonies its a lot of fun

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Fun game (awesome with strategy a strategy game!) and loved the music with it! Didn't get any information of how to restart when I won?

nicso says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

a really good idea. I would love to see a multiplayer game based on this.

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

great idea

is here AI contorling other colors?

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I was doing really well until I turned red into a glider!

Kotucz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Nice. Played many times. So simple, yet so hardly predictable :-)

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

A really neat idea. Great game.

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Unfortunately I had no time left to give the other colonies real AI, they're currently based on just the rules without any intervention.

I'll update it with a restart button right now.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Brilliant use of Game of Life to create an actual game. Would be mind-boggling with multiplayer.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

It was neat to have a competitive game of life thing, although I felt like I knew too much about how it worked for it to be much of a challenge. You can just stick one of the stable configurations in the corner and let the other ones die off

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Such a clever idea. I wonder how deep the game could get playing against human opponents. That I'd like to see!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

Really interesting, but hard to grasp with so many units on the screen. It might have been more interesting if each of the colonies started with a small stable collection of units, rather than a large random mix.

Were the sounds an indication of whether you lost or gained units in that generation? I really couldn't tell.

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:52am

Sorry like all the games made with LOVE I tried to rate, I could not test it on windows. It just crashes at startup. :(

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:00am

Haha, man we both used Conway's Game of Life as basis for your games. Though your is more of a game then mine.

Its fun, but something is lacking...
Firstly beauty of Convay's Game of Life is not seen.
Secondly game lacks depth somehow... Some score and ending resources should be added I guess.

Anyways, fun to see someone trying in same direction as I did! Good work!

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:27am

Nice idea. It is a bit difficult to track the interactions of your colony (even more taking into account neighbours), but that makes it more interesting to me. Great job!

jwolf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:04am

Interesting concept, good execution. I could see this being very tricky in multiplayer, although that may be because I have trouble predicting the results sometimes.

May 6, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Sadly it doesn't seem to be a Win32-bit version. :(

@SamPotasz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:19pm

I found the sound perfectly done.

May 10, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Source works. Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]