April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bliss Wings

by john_conder9 - Jam Entry

Four person team consisting of: John Conder (Code), Justin Tucker (Code and Level Design), Joshua Tompkins (Sound Effects and Music and Code), Tiffany Lachele Quinlan (Art) for the Eastern Kentucky University local game jam meet up.

It's XNA 4.0 the redistributables are included in the download, but you might need to have XNA 4.0 framework installed (not sure.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#271Humor(Jam)2.14
#363Audio(Jam)2.46
#397Fun(Jam)2.56
#413Innovation(Jam)2.49
#459Overall(Jam)2.63
#473Mood(Jam)2.26
#484Graphics(Jam)2.38
#534Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20am

I'm getting an "unhandled exception" in 32-bit Windows XP, so maybe you do need XNA installed to play.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

neat concept, the actual controls are clunky

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

It's okay. Could use a little work, but I think it's great.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

Controls were pretty hard. Cool idea, though; not sure how the spider blocks worked but still found them useful.

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

Coulnd't run because of the "HiDef" profile, if possible please target the "Reach" profile (you can set this on the XNA project properties)

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

@messiano: Ah good call - added a reach build, thanks for letting us know!

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Interesting concept with the core mechanic being picking up objects that do different things. I like puzzle platformers so I enjoyed playing a well made one.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Cool game, wish there was some checkpoints though. Liked the different block types.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

I really like the idea of picking up and using parts of the environment like this.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I like the gameplay alot!

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Pretty fun, but the collision detection made it pretty clunky. But keep up the good work!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:26am

Cute game! A few things:

* Sometimes it was a bit awkward to control
* I occasionally had trouble placing and grabbing objects (for example, putting the spider web on top of the log to reach the log on a ledge in stage 2)

Still, the concept is great and could lead to some very unique puzzles. The music was catchy too. :)

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:38am

Yeah we should have made sure that the objects had proper bounding boxes, everything in the game is operating on a 32x32 bounding box which was originally what we were designing towards but that didn't exactly pan out. We had the time to fix it but I guess since we were the ones testing it and *we* knew what was going on we didn't realize how impactful it was going to be. Thanks for the great comments!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Loved the background!

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Triple parallaxing :D In hindsight I think we should have made it so the middle one was going the other way, but note for the future, one of LD's strengths :D

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I can't run it on Windows 7 32-bit, maybe it's because I don't have XNA installed. It looks like fun in the video, though.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:58pm

A bit weird but it works for me (win7-64)

iamorim says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:19am

Thanks for the comment :)

I don't have XNA right now but I will download it later and try your game ^^

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

May 3, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Controls were sometimes weird but the games was good. Very nice ideas in game mechanics, too.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Very cute! I had trouble knowing exactly where the bounding boxes were based on the size/shape of the sprites. I liked how challenging it was; i like that you could get stuck and have to try the level over, as long as the levels aren't too long.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:56pm

The music and the hand-drawn feeling of the art is nice! The mechanics are a little tricky, but overall the game works well. Bravo for your skills on XNA, hell if we ever got it to work so well.

acro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Really liked the look - pastel colours, mushrooms/fairy-like, and the gameplay design is really promising. i really got stuck trying to work out the 4th level. Maybe was missing something. After a while the colours/harsh lines and tiny character got a bit sore on the eyes. other than that, very likeable indeed!

PPLo says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:30pm

My graphic card is dead :(
Can't play it. Too bad, it looks cool.
It seems that, for XNA games, the Reach profile (under the properties of the project in VS) works on more systems that the HiDef.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]