April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Instinct

by Taldius - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very small game based on the capacity of the player to guess the intention of the level design.

The game is really simple and not so polished, but I hope you will like it.

Made with Construct 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#173Fun3.48
#322Humor2.62
#479Overall3.24
#548Mood2.89
#611Theme3.48
#621Innovation3.04
#726Graphics2.81
#778Audio2.32

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

I can't load the page. It says the server isn't responding.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

Worked for me. Fun game. "Can't see the enemies", you sly dog you.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29am

Wish there were more levels. Loved the title screen.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Woo! I'm a real ninja! Fun game, was on second to last checkpoint before I figured it out.

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice one, but it was too much trial and error.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice flow and good gameplay design. Keep it up!

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Good, would have been more fun if there was a way of telling the difference between objects that instantly kill you, are platforms you're meant to go and on destructible objects.

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I really liked this game. I liked the trial and error. It reminded me of an 80's game (really difficult but engaging). Plus, not knowing what would kill you or not only added to the challenge! Plus the guy looks like the guy from Cave Story, so that's cool.

Farjuan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Great game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Really hight quality, nice one.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

This is really good, using sound to understand how to advance is a great mechanic. Would love to see it expanded.

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Graphics need work and the second to last room was a bit long, but otherwise good start!

DevWouter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Only problem I had was that it wasn't clear what I could or could not touch.

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

This one was kind of fun. It was a little irritating figuring out which blocks were deadly, and the sound got annoying pretty quick.

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

The concept of having to guess which things hurt you is interesting. It's just too frequently that it becomes a game of trial and error.

DarkX2 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

A cool nice game. I really love the details of the Ninja (the eyes!) - while still keeping a minimalistic game.

The not knowing what you face was not so much fun, even though you could check with your weapon.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Nice graphics, good minimalistic concept, and the game has a nice difficulty curve - not due to control issues, but level design (which is a good thing). Overall, very good job.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Excellent use of theme. Definitely engaging and challenging. Very well done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

For a game you claim is "not that good", I had a REALLY good time!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I love the use of sound to differentiate between the dangerous and safe objects, but a lot of people seem to be missing that detail. Might be worthwhile to explain it a bit more explicitly? :\

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Nice concept and title! Worked fine and the gameplay is intuitive, so congrats!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

My god this is hard. Fun, but frustrating at times.

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Really funny idea, but sometimes really challenging. Not bad for 48 hours.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

I want to see more of this. really liked it. specially that all the cubes are in the same color.

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Great little platforming :)

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Complete, simple, minimalist, really fun and well designed.
Well done!

euske says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:13am

I love the simplicity.

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Great game! maybe the collision detection could be better but that was fun nonetheless.

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Fun game, cool little ninja, i wish his shurikens would've came in handy at more places though!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The ninja could have less inertial movement. Other than that nice job, liked it.

May 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Nice game, funny how much you can do with some black squares and rectangles. Only in the end I remembered the hint given in the beginning and used it in the last part. ;)

siondream says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nince ninja mechanic, using the shurikens to know more about the environment is great :-D.

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:10am

Great game would love to see more in the future :D

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18am

Cool little game. Really enjoyed playing it, kept me interested. Good job

7Soul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I liked the concept, and I think it fits the theme very well.

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:46am

Fun little game, very clever not being able to tell what the objects are. Very nice use of save points. Well Done =]

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Heh, nice twist.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]