April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Digital Chew

by 4BitLightning - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoot eyeballs with RED LIGHTNING! Collectables! Enemies! Score Points!

First ever LD48 completed! Last time I had to stop early. This was not what I wanted to make, unity crashed and lost a few of my levels during the weekend and the puzzle elements had to go because of that. I may come back to this and finish it later, but sleep now.

Everything had to be made by me from scratch this weekend, music, sfx, models etc. In keeping with the theme, all assets are low-fi, no textures (everything is a shader or geometry). I haven't been able to give it the TLC I would have liked, as I have had a few other commitments this weekend. Sucks but yeah.

Used (an edited) autotracker by Ben "GreaseMonkey" Russell. Special thanks to him as I had my iPad stolen so I couldn't mix from scratch.

Keys:
-WASD move and strafe,
-QE Roll
-Mouselook
-Mousewheel Raise and lower
-Left-mouse Fire

Bugs/missing features
-Only the most boring debug enemy type made the cut
-Player collision is irritating when too near a wall

-EDIT fixed the web URL (replaced https:// with http://)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#695Graphics2.87
#882Overall2.87
#1022Theme3.00
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

This game kind of makes me feel sick haha. Especially with the distorted view, but flying around is pretty fun.
Could be neat as a space fighter sim.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

I don't know what I was doing, but I enjoyed myself.

4BitLightning says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20am

Thanks Guys, To be honest, I had bigger plans; but I was going for a mix between Decent and Geometry wars. I Did make a few bigger levels with multiple stages but Unity deleted my entire scene-graph twice and I didn't have time to do anything but drag in one of my prefab rooms and make do.

Think I'll give it some post Ludum love and make it what I wanted it to be.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

wooOOOooo vertigo WTF cool effect

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Oh dude, I freakin' love this! Really awesome.

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:02pm

I really like the viewpoint, the graphics and the movement, however, I didn't really know what I was doing other than shooting things

Andy Go says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Not really convinced by the shooter part but I liked a lot the movements :) and graphics

lotusgame says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice minimalist game ! The point of view is very interesting but makes me sick after a while :s The movements are very special. Anysay i had fun ^^

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fun! The walls screwed me up when I hit them, but otherwise a nice shooter

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]