April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Centroid

by daniel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Centroid is a simple puzzle game where your objective is to find the center of "mass" of objects.

The game is written in JavaScript and displayed through HTML canvas.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#90Innovation3.84
#458Theme3.63
#553Overall3.17
#625Fun2.91
#735Graphics2.80
#838Mood2.60
#899Humor1.79
#1069Audio1.36

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

A neat idea, but it feels very...stationary. I think this mechanic would fit well as part of a larger game.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

Very cool game. I was able to get to level 33. At first, I had no idea what I was doing until I realized that the red crosshair was the actual center!

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

Interesting concept, and surprisingly challenging! My only suggestion is to allow restarting the game after a loss.

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

Early levels were interesting, but once they became random jumbles of shapes, it lost my attention pretty fast.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31am

Original idea and fun for a while, but I don’t feel compeled to restart after losing at level 22! The first screen is confusing, clicking anywhere should just bring the next level IMHO.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

very interesting concept!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

I really like it. It's so simple and the mechanic is so obvious. Can't believe it's not already a more common thing. Great game.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

Interesting concept

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

I like the mechanic of this game. Novel idea.

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

Really enjoyed this one!

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

I like the idea. I"ve never played a 'guess the center of mass location' game before, so kudos for the innovation there. =-) I got to level 11.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Great idea, I enjoyed playing it more than a lot of the more actiony games.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Unique idea, and well implemented. As others have commented, a restart option would be pretty handy. And yeah, taking this idea and making it part of something a little more interactive (i.e. platformer) would be awesome!

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

Simple but great concept !
Graphics are ok

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

The innovation is pretty OK. The concept of findig the gravitational center of an object isn't one I encounter much.

The game is not fun to play and lacks a "well done" message or equivalent to make the player feel good about their accomplishments.

The game is simplistic and quite fun at first, when you start figuring out the controls. However, the fun declines quickly and the game fails to bring new, challenging content.

The graphics fit the theme well and are OK. The color-coding could be better, however.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Finally lost at level 15, could do with a restart button!
Enjoyed the concept but it quickly lost its fun as the shapes became more random smatterings of colours

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

That's an original idea, and surprisingly fun ! I wish there were some animations though, it would make the game more dynamic. Still, nice work !

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

Really interesting concept but the execution could use a little more work. For starters, some restart functionality.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Good work. I love the idea

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Clever idea. I found I was methodically judging the center in the early levels, but when the shapes became more random I just guessed mostly. Very good though.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Neat, simple and fun puzzle! Maybe it's also useful as education...

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Managed to get to 22, think I was mostly riding on how well I did at the start though. Is there a way to restart without refreshing? It's annoying since the start screen is actually hard :p

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Nice and cool game well Done!

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Interesting. At first I didn't understand but then... addicting. Bye

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Original idea, fun to play.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Damn I was really hoping I wouldn't fail on that, at least I made it to level 18.
Fun mechanic to play with, it's a shame there wasn't an option to continue just so I could see all the levels :)

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

After a few levels the stage gets generated randomly, right?
It looks quite good! but you could improve the interface, still.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Managed to get to level 15. :)

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Neat idea, surprisingly intuitive once you get past the first few levels. I made it to Level 24.

Panda313 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:01am

I really liked the idea. It just blow my mind up ! Good job !

TheSnide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Very nice.

bummzack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

Made it to level 54 in my first try and began to wonder if the levels are randomly generated :) (source seem to confirm that).. great stuff!

ataxkt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53am

Level 43, hell yeah! This is an incredible concept. Perfect for the theme. If you added some more feedback and added a restart function this would be the perfect puzzle game! Mobile gold!

aduros says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:27am

Great idea!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:38am

Nice game. I like the concept and the execution. The first levels were ok. With a bit of math, I could guess the center quite easily. But after about 60 levels I got bored and started clicking random points to see what would happen. How many levels are there? Are they randomly created?

muton says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Good idea! I really like it, but at some point it just stops getting more difficult - I'm up to level 44. I'd keep playing if I didn't suspect there was no end to it. :)

May 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Interesting concept! Good looking, engaging and in theme. It's funny how the first screen is already a part of the game - after I read the instructions I assumed I need to click anywhere to start the game, and immediately I loose :D But at least that one click explains everything in the game - how to win, and how to loose, and challenges the player with a slap to the face. I'll put that under "Humor".

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice game, remind me some math classes :)

My girlfriend wasn't able to play though, too geek stuff here :D

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Awesome. I got to level 33. Really nice idea, and very fun to try and speed run the game.
Its fairly punishing at first though since you can die on the first level, before you really work out what you have to do.

N427 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice mechanic, although I'm really bad at it. :C

Alink says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I had trouble with the titlescreen, but the game idea is neat, and surprisingly I never saw it before.

DkCub23 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Neat idea. I wouldn't say it's the most fun game I've ever played, but it's cool. How did you figure out where the center of mass would actually be? I'm assuming you had some sort of algorithm you implemented.

DaveDobson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Hey, I really liked this one. I made it to level 39 before dying - the later levels with the scattered blocks are very tricky. I tried to do it intuitively without doing any math, and that was fun - I could have figured out each one, but then it feels more like doing homework. I wonder if it a different variation would be fun - where you're given where the center of mass and have to place one or two blocks to force it there. Anyway, I really enjoyed this - abstract, well made, fun.

DaveDobson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Hey, I really liked this one. I made it to level 39 before dying - the later levels with the scattered blocks are very tricky. I tried to do it intuitively without doing any math, and that was fun - I could have figured out each one, but then it feels more like doing homework. I wonder if it a different variation would be fun - where you're given where the center of mass and have to place one or two blocks to force it there. Anyway, I really enjoyed this - abstract, well made, fun. I agree with the others that some kind of interface would help - a next level button or something.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]