April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

P27

by hi-scor.es - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#153Theme4.00
#164Innovation3.67
#694Audio2.46
#721Overall3.00
#786Fun2.73
#880Mood2.56
#961Humor1.67
#1089Graphics2.31

Comments

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Some of the glyphs didn't load, I just got red and blue boxes with no idea what it was supposed to be. I'd create pictures in the future to ensure it renders correctly.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Very interesting and certainly fits theme very well!
(ps. had to maximize browser window, normally I don't use a max size one)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

It's okay. The controls were a bit glitchy, but it might just be my computer. Cool idea though.

hi-scor.es says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Thanks for the comments so far!
The glyphs not loading is probably because the browser doesn't support the font formats. Sorry about that. Chrome, Safari, & FF should work.

Window sizing works a bit oddly since it calculates a golden rectangle based on the height & width. If the game doesn't fit, you can make the window smaller or larger and refresh until it does.

hi-scor.es says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Hrm... I guess it's Firefox that doesn't like the font file. I'll see what I can do to fix that.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

nice little game.. felt quite polished ..i liked the audio aswell ..good job man :)

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Interesting concept! Overall it felt a bit too slow.

Rubi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

Good idea, is very minimalist, need a reset button in some cases.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

Interesting concept fun but difficult to master.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:11am

I kind of couldn't tell what I was doing

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

awesome game. i liked the simple but effective controls
more levels appriciated! :)

hi-scor.es says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:43am

Thanks everyone for the comments!
Firefox now displays the icons correctly.
However you may want still avoid using it because it puts an annoying delay in the music loops (of course, many people find Philip Glass's music annoying to begin with).

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Absolutely amazing use of the theme, really clever, innovative gameplay. Liked the music, the mechanics, even the way you 'taught' the player what to do. Very good.

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:27am

Great game! It took me a few screens to figure out the controls, but that was part of the fun. I like what you did with the art. It would have been nice to see some of the boxes drawn on the screen fill in with color randomly. But that's just an aesthetic I'd like to see. It certainly has nothing to do with gameplay.

stevejohnson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Well done! I started expecting to get scored based on how many turns I used. Some penalty for failure would also have been nice, or a time limit. Then it would be more of a puzzle. But seriously, good game.

syawqy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:23pm

fun,simple and fun...

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice game and mechanics. Awesome job!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

A wonderful take on the one-button idea! Love that you can play this game on pretty much any device with any peripheral.

It was a bit slow, but that just helped it be more meditative, so if that was your goal it certainly worked!

This is the kind of game that truly highlights the minimalism theme, excellent job! :)

angelk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:48pm

I like the music at the end of the game the most! The puzzles are simple but interesting.

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Very simple and effective.

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:14am

Like the idea, took me a little while to figure out the controls, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]