April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Neo Tektropolis

by vidarn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Neo Tektropolis is a "Score Attack" platformer with randomly generated levels.
Collect orbs to increase your score and try to avoid getting killed ;)

The levels are endless and the only "goal" is to get the highest score possible.
Your score is displayed in the upper left corner of the screen (the numbers are pretty small)

Controls:
A,S - move
J - jump
K (Hold) - fire beam

Linux users that doesn't have Box2d and SFML2 installed can run the shell script run.sh to start the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Graphics4.00
#498Mood2.96
#1006Overall2.73
#1048Fun2.41
#1188Innovation2.14
#1236Coolness49%
#1263Theme2.55

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

The graphics... the style ..stunning! :) The gameplay is getting repetitive quickly :/

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

From a technical standpoint, this game is really well done. However, as you said in your description, it lacks some kind of goal that motivates you to progress further into the game when you have died.
The graphics are really amazing, probably the best that I have seen so far in this competition.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I like the art and charging up the laser beam is pretty cool! I would prefer to have health instead of dying instantly, though...

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I really love the style! The sprite work here is really phenomenal. The key mapping is really awkward for me, though, and it obviously needs some audio. You should keep working on this. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nice graphics and animation. The keyboard layout was difficult. Whats wrong with up for jump? :)

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

cute pixel art, the gameplay needs polishing D:
nice job

smealum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

the art is fantastic. keep up the good work. :)

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

love the style!!

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10am

Fantastic art and solid mechanics. A clear objective would have helped, even just one line of mission text. Hope you keep working on it, the world seems like it could grow to become something quite interesting.

syre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

for a game this fast the camera should really show you more in the way you're facing, the way it is you don't have enough time to react to bullets and such unless you stop and go a lot. i like that it's oriented mostly below you though. also speed related is that deaths are sudden and make me instinctively hit enter without looking at the score.
the level generation never trapped me or anything, but i'd sometimes wander into hot spots of enemies or points. the attack was really cumbersome compared to how easy it was to just dodge, to the point that it was rarely useful. maybe if dead enemies dropped points it would work better.
i guess most of that wouldn't apply if it was finished though...
and yeah the graphics were really good, and it felt great to laser things. sorry about all the text.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The graphic is awesome also i love the concept ! Good game well done :)

LeafThief says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

The graphics were good and movement worked. It really suffers from the lack of goal. I as player didn't have a motivation.

So pretty solid art and code!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Great style... minimalistic too... like it.. cannot rate sound... because the headphones crushed and girlfriend is sleeping... It Rate it with 2 Stars as a compromise

bytegrove says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I had a hard time playing this. I could not move to the right for some reason, and as others have mentioned, the keyboard layout felt weird as well. The art style is really nice though, and I like the fact that the whole face(or lack thereof) of the character emits the laser beam.

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Love the graphic style and the playablility. Feels a bit too random.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Very nice visuals, but the game itself is too hard. These flying things appear too fast and often you jump somewhere and hope, that the jump doesn't end in an enemy.

escence says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01pm

This game is looking very good. The graphics are awesome, I especially like the color style. Some sound effects would have been nice (or does it have sound and I just cannot hear it?), but great work anyway :)

IrfanFox says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:04am

I really like the pixel art. The colours used, the way how the screen shakes when beam is fired. Although the game has no sound, the laser animation and the shaking effect combined makes the sound appears in my head. This game has potential.

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Graphics are superb! The physics are a little stiff (integer-only?) and the level generation often gets me stuck climbing "up", so I have to jump into the blind, which is just a matter of luck whether I'm hit by an off-screen bullet or crab thing. My high score: Measly 4 orbs!

Test User says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:58am

The art is cool, what made me want to check out the game in the first place. The control scheme is hard for me though so I keep dying quickly. Someone else brought this up I think, but health instead of insta-death would be cool.

TenTonToon says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:05am

The pixel art is of an amazing quality, especially given the simplicity of its design. You managed to cram a lot of detail and personality in these sprites. I also like the color palette; it's easy on the eyes, and looks cool (no pun intended). The design is an ok fit to the theme.

As for the gameplay, the game controls well, but jumping was marred by platform positioning. The view should be wider around the character in order to avoid cheap deaths, which occurred a lot. Or maybe allow the player to look up and down beyond the camera's current position as some other platformers do.
The action is sort of eventless, as orbs where scarcely available (my best score so far is 1880, if I recall right, and that equals just 4 or 5 orbs), and it mostly boiled down to "jump blindly - die" or "get shot by an off-screen enemy".

Finally, I found the controls to be all over the place. It's stated on the description that 'S' moves your character right, but it's 'D' that moves you right. And having to press Enter to restart the game felt forced and unintuitive.

I see a lot of potential in the idea, especially concerning the visual design. But making the level design random plays against it; I'd rather play levels handcrafted, with a strong sense of purpose or narrative.

Definitely one game I'd like to play a post-compo version of, and one to follow down the road if you get it developed further.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]