April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Picture Frame

by Herku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Download the .jar for all plattforms (~10mb). If my game doesn't run make shure to leave a comment with your os and eventually occuring error messages.
Thanks for playing and rating.

Introduction ingame and in screenshot section.
Its a 2D Puzzlegame.

I'm to tired now for more notes... should be self explaining.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#393Theme3.70
#458Fun3.09
#510Innovation3.18
#553Overall3.17
#683Graphics2.88
#871Audio2.15
#1019Mood2.38
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

A bit too easy, if you ask me. :)

Herku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

It is getting harder after every 3 stages. Tell me that it's easy after you reached level 21 ;) In my opinion its hard enough at level 10, but level 10 would be to hard for beginners...

NalozycShade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

yea some of these are brutally difficult. Its a great game! :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Great game! :)

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

easy but fun

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Interesting idea, but I couldn't always see why I chose the right piece! Were the number of turns meant to reduce? It just kept changing between 1 & 0.

Nickardson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

This is an awesome game - The puzzles are brilliant!

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

nice one. played through a little over 30 levels and i thought it was pretty good !

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Cool concept and fun puzzles. But how many are there? I solved 40 puzzles and they are fun, but is there some kind of reward at the end?

May 2, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Got to level 4 before my brain got tired. Cool mechanic & I can see how easy it would be to design levels for this so excellent use of resources here.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Very cool. I felt this had a very good difficulty curve - it was enough to keep me feeling like I was improving, but without making me frustrated.

Drabiter says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Nice puzzle games. It's kinda too easy for me but that's okay.

Herku says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:13pm

The levels are generated randomly. The generator gets the number of squares, th number of turns and the symmetry and generates a level. There is no reward at the end, it just keeps generating levels of the highest difficulty. Thanks so much for playing everyone.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nicely presented.

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Fun little puzzle game! Pretty clean design, the few sound effects were pleasant. I think it would make a cool mobile game!

noddy2006 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:13am

Very cool game! I couldn't tell that the levels were randomly generated at all. I'm up to level 38 at the moment, I thought I'd keep going till I reached the end... probably not a good idea now! That does explain though why I occasionally get some super easy puzzles (such as:

. . . .
. * * .
-------
* * . .
. . . .

... which I have 3 turns to solve!)

Herku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:21pm

The problem is, that there sometimes some turns, that are created, are useless. It only checks if last made turn made the picture symmetrical again. Sometimes the third turn undos turn number 2. Or sometimes it moves a complete for example white row. You would need a list of deep copies of that array and that was to much for me that evening ;)

burtlo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:53pm

On Mac OSX 10.8.3 with Java version "1.6.0_45" I receive:

```
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: hendrik/niemann/ld26/states/MainGame : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
```

cakemonitor says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:10pm

good game but just a little too easy

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I got bored on level 5 but it's a good puzzle idea and a good implementation for an LD entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]