April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DE-REZZED: Survival

by playvue - Jam Entry

Tron-inspired lightcycle survival game. Use arrow keys to maneuver, avoid other players trails and clear the board before the next wave!

UPDATE: So, apparently, some are having issues with it running to slow on their browser/OS/etc. There is a framerate display in the bottom right corner. The target is 60FPS. If it's less, performance will be significantly impacted. So, please try it on a different/better setup to get the full impact before crapping in the comments. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#399Audio(Jam)2.17
#420Graphics(Jam)2.67
#464Mood(Jam)2.30
#477Theme(Jam)2.55
#488Overall(Jam)2.52
#509Fun(Jam)2.12
#540Innovation(Jam)1.78

Comments

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

Pace seemed really slow on Linux/Chrome anyway. Was there a way to boost speed?

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

So a couple of bugs.
1) I had an enemy player literally put a wall OVER MY WALL without being de-rezzed.
2) when turning, it seems to pick a spot in an unseen grid to perform the turn, meaning that I can never be certain where I'm turning. So I turn X amount of pixels ahead of where I am.

playvue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

@swizzcheez: It starts out a lil slow, but speeds up each wave. There's a framerate display in the bottom right. Target is 60FPS.

@visibleatom: Yep, there are a few bugs! But, the turns are based on grid blocks. And, they're very much seen! =) (The lines). I had a surprisingly difficult time getting collision detection working properly at all in CreateJS. Hence the jam and not the compo entry.

Thanks for your comments!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Oooh tron. I liked it, just a but slow/unresponsive at points. Also it seems like I can't lose unless I crash into a wall.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

But there's a lack of poatoes, which may make this the greatest game ever.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Oh ok.... now it's working a lot better. Weird. Nice work man haha!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

After playing a round I was able to figure out exactly where it'd turn, and even got to learn that it moves quickly if you turn, so if you zig-zag around you can really take out some enemies ;)

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

It worked fine with chrome, nice experience :) I liked how the speeds got modified, it made for a fun game!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

fun! im a sucker for these retro arcade type games! good job :)

Zathalos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43am

I liked the Tron art style and logo is pretty sweet. Like the others said, the controls were a little unresponsive but I managed. Were you supposed to be able to go into your own beam? If so, you can end up walling yourself in and never die :p

Waiting for the next wave was a little annoying and sometimes I would spawn and instantly die. I think there's a lot that can be done to improve the game but I'm pretty sure you're already aware of the issues. Anyway, good job :)

playvue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Zathalos: way to point out the issues while still appreciating what worked and the effort put into it! Great critique/review!

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice entry! Enemy AI could be improved (but hey, this was done in 48 hours ;)

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Pretty fun =)

Broxxar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Felt really slow pace. As well I encountered two bugs:

AI units were able to do 180s on the spot and stay on their own line (making them invicible).

AI passed through my line on more than one occasion and didn't die.

It also didn't make a lot of sense that you had to wait for the time on a round to finish before the next began even if you'd killed all the enemies on screen.

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I played a few rounds - and the pink drove into the tail of the orange bike and stayed unharmed, the waves also seemed a little short - it's be more challenging if maybe the wave didn't end until there were a few grid squares left of free screen, or until two bikes remained, and the trails faded after a certain point.

itsZN says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Nice, could use better AI, but ok anyway

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Hey all, thanks for leaving feedback! Yeah, much better AI was what I was working on at the end when I had to cut and publish.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Unplayable, runs at 6 fps in Firefox 20 on a Core i3 @3.2 GHz.

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice concept, and solid work. I think the sense of 'unresponsiveness' might come from the grid-locked movement vs not moving a whole grid space. I'd love to try a version slightly a bit more like the retro snake, but with all your cool additions (multiplayer AI, waves spawning). :D

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I don't know if my pc is running the gam slow or the game is like in a slow motion pace or something :P I really liked the ideia but it could be a bit faster.

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I love tron-inspired games! This one is quite fun, I experienced some bugs but it's still fun.

P.D.: In my opinion it'd be better if the player and the enemies were faster.

Zace says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:08am

I like the concept, just needs to be faster.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]