April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Hears Kitten

by Kom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Similar to the classic robotfindskitten except now you can hear kitten, too. Your primary objective is to find kitten. Use all available resources to carry out your task.

-=- Controls -=-
WASD - Move
Mouse - Look
Escape - Open menu
Kitten - Win

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Audio4.09
#122Humor3.26
#274Innovation3.48
#282Mood3.22
#416Theme3.67
#546Overall3.18
#826Fun2.69
#840Graphics2.67

Comments

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

I spent a while rocking out to the chiptune.

Very pleasant game, I enjoy the philosophical take on Minimalist. I wonder, do you need to listen to all of them before you find kitten? I'm pretty sure I did.

I'm giving graphics an N/A on this one, since they're clearly not the point.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Brilliant, I loved it.

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

I was disappointed when I finished it because I had to stop searching. Great game!!

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very enjoyable.

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Unique and interesting. Makes me wish more games incorporated spatial sound into gameplay.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Very interesting - quite enjoyable! Just wish it ran a bit faster.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35am

Well thought out idea, and well executed!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

good times. Loved the humor

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

This is amazing. Is this how a robot sees things? Runs fine here, and the concept is gold. Thanks, and good luck in the contest!

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Excellent game, the audio was great. Thank you for making this.

scottychips says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Great use of audio for gameplay. The first time i tried I couldn't find the kitten at all. The second time I literally tried 3 boxes and found him. Not sure if that is what was supposed to happen?

friedhardware says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

This game is crazy good. It really focuses on the simple objectives and doesn't add a bunch of silly stuff.

dotteri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Nice use of espatial sound =). Those beats scare me...

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:45am

Very cool !

Tipyx says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Very pleasant, but too short :p

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Yay :D Does the kitten block always have the same color?? Cool idea, but veeeery short game. Also, moving the mouse makes playing the game quite tricky.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I enjoyed it! It was simple, but fun.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Very well done, awesome concept. I wish that rather than place the kitten randomly, the game just required you to listen to all of the sounds and put the kitten in the last one, because I'm sure there are some gems I missed out on (and, sorry, but I don't feel like replaying haha).

I don't know if you recorded all the sounds yourself or not, but they are very well done. Like others have said, I rocked out to the chiptune track for a bit. Only complaint is that sometimes the squares were too close together and it made the sounds merge into each other which was kind of annoying. I felt like it detracted a lot from the quieter sound.

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Great idea, it's fun to play this game. I quickly found the box with the barking dog and thought the kitten must be nearby, but it wasn't :)

May 2, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Very cool entry! Simple, but engaging and quite a unique experience - well done! However, you do know that you are not allowed to use recordings found on the internet in your compo entry, right ? These do quite sound like stock audio - correct and forgive me if I'm wrong but otherwise this should be a Jam entry.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:04am

Great use of sound.

Sestren says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:48am

I happened to find the kitten on my first try, so I had to play again to realize there was more content than that. The sound effects were nice additions to the descriptions.

Waynetron says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:31am

It was actually quite fun listening to all the sounds.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:04am

Great audio and great use of the theme to construct a game on a simple mechanics. After listening to those tunes, I can't help but dish out a high score for audio. :3

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:07am

Wow. I heard the kitten.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Good idea the kitten sound... graphics can be better but for 48h that's good. ... i like to find kitten ... that was funny and not easy :)

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Love it! A sound based game! Could use some more depth, but the variety of sounds and humor were great.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Really liked the use of sounds in this game.

stevejohnson says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Not much depth, but you knew that. Your kitten sound is very well-recorded. (I hope you created all the sounds yourself in the 48 hours or you should be in the jam instead.) Important part: I had some fun.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Hmm.. First try: first block I encountered was the kitty x)
2nd try was not that easy though, nice game, greate concept and amazing sfx!

recursor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:27am

This was really fun! Congratulations on a unique entry.

May 11, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Some funny and cute sounds, especially liked the animals... :)
Nice game overall, only question is : Where did you get the sound of the summer night during the 48 hours? It's not summer already, is it ? :)

May 12, 2013 @ 8:48am

Cool game, loved the audio.. I didn't really cared for the visuals.. maybe you could've removed the all together?

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Listening to the boxes interested me. If you continue to develop this, after hearing several boxes yet no kitty, I lost interest.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]