April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Reich 18

by jerombd - Jam Entry

Game & Watch game inspired by "Music for 18 Musicians" (1974) from Steve Reich.

Synchronize vertically the instrument and the range of notes to obtain 1 point. If the maestro is synchronized too, you gain 5 points.
(endless game. 3 lives.)

Press any key to start.

LEFT ARROW to move to the left
RIGHT ARROWto move to the right
[X] to action the Bass
[C] to action the Cymbal
[V] to action the Vibraphone
[B] to actio nthe Piano

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.66
#68Theme(Jam)3.91
#68Humor(Jam)3.21
#107Innovation(Jam)3.48
#124Mood(Jam)3.44
#129Audio(Jam)3.41
#164Overall(Jam)3.40
#235Fun(Jam)3.02

Comments

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Great idea for the art / game style :D

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Really nice. Well done :D. Bit hard to understand at first.

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

great idea :D

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Hard one, but still great concept and fit perfectly to the theme !

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Game Watch!, very cool

derdragon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I was rather confused by it, but eventually at least figure out what to do. Despite it all, I was very pleased overall, excellent work!

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Great idea and great game overall!!

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

Man I just love these Game Watch-like games. Yours is great. Found it a bit hard to understand, but this is great. One of the best ones I've seem this LD so far. Congratulations!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

pretty hard, but the game&watch graphics are awesome!

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Graphics are awesome, it really looks like and old game & watch !
Too bad that does not create a melody (or maybe I didn't understand something) even with some beeps ?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very good art, superb imitation of Game & Watch ! But maybe a little too easy ?

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Great visuals ;)

nSun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Great ! Just a bit unfortunate that once opened design look like a fake Game & Watch, but this is not a fault or inconsistent so far.
(I give you a bonus point, because I also made a game & watch on last LD ;) )

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

thank you for the comments!
@nSun your old "game&waste" is better than this one ;)

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Very inspired, had some difficulty mastering. Graphics were awesome!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05am

This made me nostalgia, reminded me of a pocket game I had as a kid. Very interesting for how simple it is.

Jan Marcano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Really nice game! Well done :)

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Awesome Visuals, Love it!

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Awesome Presentation! Love it!

Celticraft49 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I liked it as a game and watch game, but it was kind of frustrating when I couldn't really understand it.

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:02am

Interesting but hard for me to figure it out

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:47am

Instructions could be a tiny bit clearer otherwise great job.

jerombd says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:56am

Yeah, Celticraft49 & Uhfgood you're quite right; everytime I make the same mistake in those gamejams: I begin to draw the artworks THEN I try to find a gameplay fitting the look I want. That's why the goals are not really well designed and difficult to understand :/

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:43pm

a good old game in HTML 5 that incrédible :D

May 10, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Love the G&W look, those games were always great! They were easy to start, yet hard to let go again. They were truly minimal, but great fun... Sorry to say that your game does not really fulfill all my nostalgic dreams... it's just a bit too complicated with all those buttons, and a bit too quiet for a musical game. But the looks are great, anyway!!! :)

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Super art style, nailed the game and watch feel. Couldnt really understand what to do though...

Sestren says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I love the look of old LCD games, and you've captured it dead on! The gameplay was hard to figure out at first, but once I did getting points seemed easy.

Sylvain says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Very good idea to make a G&W game. I think the concept is a bit too harder to understand to be a real G&W like, but it's cool.

jerombd says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Thank you all for the comments! ...so I really have to improve my skills in the gameplay department for the future gamejams!

paulmcgg says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Haha, love the concept. Really great art, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]