April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

a.void

by Ty Taylor - Jam Entry

a.void is a minimalist adventure in sound and time.

The gameplay mechanic: the colored obstacles don't spawn randomly. The "target" indicator you see is where they next obstacle will spawn in the next wave, and all obstacles will spawn at the same position and time (relative to the start of the wave) forever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#10Audio(Jam)4.13
#44Theme(Jam)4.04
#68Mood(Jam)3.68
#75Overall(Jam)3.67
#77Fun(Jam)3.53
#149Innovation(Jam)3.35
#184Humor(Jam)2.52
#235Graphics(Jam)3.35

Comments

MvT says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

Nice idea !

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48am

Wow this is pretty cool. The music ties in with the game quite well.

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

Lots of fun. I love the way the obstacles appear in time with the music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07am

Love the music :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

Loved the music & sound effects. The game is really fun too, I didn't understand what to do at first but once I figured it out, it was great !

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

Really stylish little game!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

Really well polished! Love the classic fade out effect :P

maloki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

I love the title, music and gameplay!

At first I was not exactly sure what to do. I tried using the arrow keys and it worked to some extent. Challenging but manageable. Then I tried holding the mouse button as I dragged. Much harder with it slinging around, but fun!

I thought the arrow keys and mouse button control differences were off, so I tried just clicking and it worked just as well.

Were these intentional? Either way, my favorite control scheme is moving the mouse with the button pressed down, flinging the dot. Yeah, I like the extra challenge. :P

Audio fits the game perfectly, especially with the end chime as the dot hits the void.

Good job! :D

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

Sometimes the dot I'm supposed to get appears offscreen. Music goes nicely with the action. The effect when I fall into a black hole is familiar, maybe it reminds me of 80's video effects or public access educational shows... don't know, but it's weird. Maybe it's the font! Fun game, though.

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18am

Fits minimalism very well! Has great sound and I played for quite a while. My only complaint is that most of my deaths were from a circle popping up out of nowhere right in front of my path with no real way of avoiding it. Great job!

aeveis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Nice title. Pretty relaxing to play, I clicked to move. Usually I would die when the void spawned near me, maybe if there was indication of where it will spawn next? or I might have missed something.

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

I love this Mechanic, and I almost danced while listening to that cool music :)

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

Just a heads up to the people who aren't fully understanding the mechanic, the colored obstacles don't spawn randomly. The "target" indicator you see is where they next obstacle will spawn in the next wave, and all obstacles will spawn at the same position and time (relative to the start of the wave) forever.

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

I'm not sure what I'm playing but it is awesome! xD
Great job!

I got a high score of 60 and the game started lagging.

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

(Forgot to vote)

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07am

Easily the best audio I've come across yet, and it, combined with the graphics and movement, makes this a nice whimsical little game. AND it was fun!

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

really nice. great presentation and consistency of style. I love the way the title flows into the gameplay. The double entendre in the name doubles as the instructions. sweet.

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

The audio is GREAT. I liked this take on misnimalism a lot :D

geepit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Really fun!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Nice job. :)

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

This game seems really innovative to me. I haven't seen this take on the memorization theme. It is really fun and easy to understand.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40pm

WOW! audio, visual, controls, everything really nice =D

congratulations! <o/

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

All around great job on this! Super stylish and the music is perfect :D

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Nice gameplay, nice universe, suit to theme, nice music, nice difficulty progression, nice graphics... In two words: nice game!

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Made it to 30 before the universe colllapsed. I adore the presentation. It's just gorgeous and gameplay works very well, great work! :)

While the music was good, it felt a bit mismatched with the visuals. It's a bit too cheery and upbeat for the cold visuals.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

Music is nice

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06am

Cool mechanics! It's a quite musical game :D

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Cool mechanics! It's a quite musical game :D
I like the movement. I bet it wasn't easy to program.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

I love the whole idea behind playing with timing and sound, and the execution on the concept has a charming personality. Strangely enough, my highest score came when I still didn't know what I was doing. Afterwards, it became too easy to fall into my own traps while trying to keep the new trap spots spawning in the smallest area possible.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:53am

Loved the music. The spawning mechanic wasn't clear and if you have to explain it in text it may be an issue. Perhaps a better idea is just to hint visually where things will spawn shortly before they do? Maybe the ability to pick up shields, so you can withstand at least one hit/fail? In any case, very nice entry and very well polished for the time. Nice title, too. Develop it further and put on mobile devices.

Kali Purr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Oh wow, this is fantastic! I love the control sceme. It works well enough to provide the player with a chalenge. The visuals are refreshingly simple, too. I also like the absence of a tutorial! The only thing I'm not a fan of is the audio/music. I like that it's reactive, and the implementation makes for a richer experience. The actual sounds somehow clash with the visual tone. But that's just my opinion. Awesome game. I'd definitely drop some change on a full version of this.

Kali Purr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:53pm

It's addictive, too.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:30am

One of the best I've played so far. Imaginative, simple and the music fits SO well.

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:21am

that was a lot of fun. Thanks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]