About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 8 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 8 hours, 18 minutes, 50 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 9 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Werewolf in Space - free_napalm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are flying through space with a crew of three. A message from the HQ reveals that one werewolf is on board. You will have to fly past a moon. In a few hours, one of you three will try to kill the others. How are you going to prepare? Who can you trust? Who will be granted to lock himself away, who will be tied up, who will be killed?

    In this short game, you decide on the fate of your men. You can never tell who the werewolf is.
    9 achievements give Werewolf In Space a extremely high replayability. You might be able to survive with all three men, but are you also able to give the werewolf a feast?

    Game is a .jar file.

    Thanks for reading and have fun!

    View free_napalm's journal. | View all entries by free_napalm

    Ratings

    Coolness86%
    #142Humor3.13
    #274Innovation3.48
    #363Mood3.13
    #386Theme3.71
    #563Overall3.16
    #581Fun2.96
    #1021Audio1.63
    #1028Graphics2.40

    Comments

    gizmo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

    works quite well under linux! i had a good laugh, too. well done! :D

    MTO says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

    werewolves in spaaace! I have to say that's an excellent mix of genres

    free_napalm says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

    Thanks for playing, and it's good to hear that it works under linux.
    I wanted to go for werewolf in a submarine first, turns out there already is a movie about that. I hope the spaceship has a similar mood of isolation.

    Axelhein says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

    I really enjoyed this game. It's simple, funny and fits the theme very well. I would have liked if there was a way to tell who the werewolf was, but I guess it's part of the humor.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

    Really liked that one :)

    VDOgamez says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

    This was a very silly concept, executed pretty well and minimalistically. The achievements were really what made the game, getting the player to try all sorts of different ways to play. Without that, it isn't much of a game and more of a tying people up and killing them simulator, but the achievement hints give it a bit of a puzzle element.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    Very nice concept! I wasn't clear what I was supposed to do at first (I just kept hitting space and then wondering why I couldn't avoid the werewolf). Once I realized that I had to move and solve the puzzle first, that helped.

    It seems a bit too random for my tastes (is there really a way to beat this every time?), but it's a cool idea.

    Ernyz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

    Didnt like, that the game was based entirely on luck, but everything else was nice :)

    nintendoeats says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

    As much as I am anti-randomness in games, it's a neat little scenario-exploration thing. I wasn't immediately clear on what was going on, but once I found out I started wanting to try different strategies. I can't say that I felt very engaged on a mechanical level, but I was enjoying myself.

    And graphically I enjoy it. I think that would run on a GBC.

    free_napalm says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

    Thanks for the kind words everyone. The game does use luck, but you still have to plan ahead if you want to get all the achievements, and it's not a big deal to replay.
    It is all about the suspense, and without luck it would be predictable :)

    enzo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

    It was a little hard to figure out at first! The controls and the text kind of blend in with each other. after that, it's fun to find all the permutations, though!

    garygreen says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    I thought the way you managed to get across the story and provide a variety of options and endings with such a limited amount of interaction was really clever.

    fullmontis says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    I really like the concept and retro graphics! It's cool to see how elaborate a game can be even with such simple concepts.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    Eh. Simple and funny, but I'd like it to be more about deductions than guesswork. Some graphics bugs with the text.

    netmute says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    Interesting take on the popular Werewolf game ;)

    whitetigle says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:30pm

    Just found the window way too small on my huge 4K screen ;)

    Salamander3 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:37pm

    I really enjoyed this, great simple little game. Good job.

    Tyro says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    The title reminded me of a B-movie. It was short and sweet, and the randomness of the lycanthropy gave it bit of replayability.

    badlydrawnrod says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    Innovative, but the small window made it very difficult to see what was going on.

    madballneek says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:39pm

    Very cool and fun. You get upvoted for using Java :)

    echa says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    Very nice!

    zinfandel says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:51am

    At first I was auto-losing without doing anything - the whole ship got red. I don't know what that was but when it worked it was awesome :)

    free_napalm says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:43pm

    Auto-losing probably refers to starting the game with Space, thus starting the night without doing anything
    If the window is too small for you, try to resize it. I recommend the original size, but the font is still readable in many sizes.
    It's nice to see so many people enjoy the cheap setting.

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:02pm

    It was a cool concept, but the gameplay was a little dull. But I got the idea. Reminded me of roguelikes. Good job anyway

    GingerMess says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 11:57pm

    Despite the randomness, there's definitely a game here. Not bad!

    Fnkee says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    Took a couple of tries to understand how the game worked, but once I got the hang of it, it was really fun! Can't wait to unlock all the achievements.

    dertom says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 9:57pm

    Hmm,...I was a bit lost at the beginning, but once you understood the game it turns out to be quite cool!

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 6:26am

    Fun game, love how simple it is. Actually vaguely reminds me of an idea that's been floating around in my head for a while, and thus is giving me some ideas about how to handle that particular idea.

    Figuring out all the achievements was fun, although the last one I got "space looks red" took me a bit to find.

    hirsch says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 7:50pm

    At first it was somewhat hard to get it, but at the second time it worked well. Sounds are missing, but overall really nice concept :)

    shawn42 says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 9:20pm

    I love the achievements; they really kept me playing. Unique idea; what to not just build another platformer!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]