April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boogie Woogie

by gabehollombe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I present to you: Boogie Woogie - my first game ever. It's a combo Avoid/Collect style game (collect like-colored rectangles, avoid other colors).

It's written in HTML5, so it should run right in your browser.

Please enjoy!

Made with Impact, Bfxr, Pixen, Audacity, Garage Band, Chrome, and Vim.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#89Theme4.12
#92Audio3.61
#210Fun3.42
#369Overall3.36
#811Innovation2.79
#862Mood2.58
#906Graphics2.59

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26am

Pretty fun. Got to 60.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14am

60! Wow! That's higher than my best, I think.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Loved the music, and it's a pretty good take on the theme. One suggestion is that I died a lot by blocks spawning right on top of mine, and that's pretty frustrating.

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

Great gameplay. Music enhances the mood.

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

Neat game, nice atmosphere.

Nsmurf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

It's a bit laggy, but other than that, good!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

Relaxing, fun game! Nice use of theme too.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Love the color change mechanic.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Great mechanics. also fun.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32am

Yeah Disco! Nicely polished dodge style. I love sound and lovely colors...

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

very cool, nice gameplay :)

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

Pretty fun, gets pretty challenging!

evoker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Nice game mechanics. Also liked the music and sound effects. Anyway, great game!

Drabiter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

Love the idea, music, and the simplicity. Fits the theme really well. The difficulty curve needs adjust a bit though.

rwos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

I liked the art style and the music, everything fits together really well. And it's fun to play, too - well done!

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I think that it good too slow at first (4 or 5 rects with the same color?) and then it gets very hard too quickly. You should tune that curve.
Everything else look, sounds and feels really good. Good game!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

This is deceptively simple and fun. Good idea.

thatwhichis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:22pm

36! I am bad. Very nice concept and execution, agree that maybe a slightly more balanced curve could really make this game pop!

Cosmologicon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Really fun with great music and lots of replay value. I got 111. The trick is to stay near the edges.

Rastagong says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:28am

Simple, fun and catchy. I like it! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]