April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LOWBAT

by Foxtacy - Jam Entry

To everyone playing, PLEASE, LEAVE, SUGGESTIONS! they're important for making the game better!!! :D

To avoid problems, right click on either windows or web, then save link as, and download the game to your machine.

Ok, so here goes nothing >_<

You're an afro guy, with a flashlight belt, and you must get to the source of light spending the least energy possible.

If you run out of energy or get caught by one of the Ghobats, you're dead.

Controls: Arrows or WASD and Space to light it up babe!

We will keep working on this game to release it on kongregate or newgrounds or both in the near future :)


Please Comment, Rate, Share, Vote, Lick it, Bite it, Taste it, show it to your kids, and have fun! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#147Humor(Jam)2.72
#281Mood(Jam)2.89
#326Audio(Jam)2.71
#330Graphics(Jam)2.97
#334Innovation(Jam)2.77
#402Theme(Jam)2.87
#408Overall(Jam)2.79
#417Fun(Jam)2.49

Comments

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Figuring out what I could and couldn't run into was a bit confusing at first, but I really like the premise!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Yeah, teaching the player how to play, is really hard. =/ But i think we got it right (or sorta) for the first time :)

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

very original!, love the concept

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Thanks! :D

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Cute concept, controls for flashlight felt REALLY laggy; multiple second delay between me pressing a button and something happening.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Interesting idea that could use some polishing. The audio seemed out of place and never really set the mood in any way. There are also issues with the flashlight and it taking a while to turn on. Other than that it's a fun idea that I enjoyed that could be really great with a little polish.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Classic concept, but well fit to the theme. What's with that jump sound? Hehe
Little lag to turn flashlight on (not sure if it's design to do so) and didn't understand why the level is so high on the screen or why it couldn't fit the whole area instead of a single strip.

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

The controls are not very responsible, sometimes it takes few seconds to turn the lights on/of, shame becouse the art style and sounds are very appealing

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Guys! the flashlight delay, is part of the mechanics! No problem! :) Will fix it soon! :D

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Updated the flashlight mechanics, now it doens't stop the movement! :D

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

And yes, i could have worked a little more on the audio... =/

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

idk why, but I found the game rather hilarious with the music and sound effects. Hopefully that was intentional. Kinda confusing at parts, but fun.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

Hahahahahahaha thanks for your review :D

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:38am

Hey, you fixed the flashlight! Now you only have to deal with the dead batteries... hehehe

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57am

Nice Tácio! Very well done, with good graphics and interesting game play mechanics. I still have some issues with jumping, but overal I like this game. Keep the good work!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Guys! Thank you so much! Your words are really motivating me to keep working on this game, and making it a big thing! :D

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

Where did that SFX came from? O.o
nice game hahahhahah

elbowroom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

The controls were kind of clunky, sometimes I could jump very high and other times I only got "a half jump" and couldn't tell what I was doing different. The game has a great mood and good graphics. Some of the inner mechanics and controls need to be reworked a little in my opinion.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Fun game!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58pm

@rzfmzn
hahahhaha crazy royalty free samples i have here XD

@elbowroom
I've got this problem here too. I think i know how to fix it :)

@RafaelSales
Thank you so much! :D

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

@elbowroom nope my attempt failed. I have to research a bit more to figure out how to solve this. Damn =/

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Original concept, i liked it. More help would be cool. Nice job.

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:00am

The light and dark thing is great, but the "yeah" scream all the time is not good. Maybe random noises?

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:14am

Thanks @LTyrosine ^^

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28am

Cool gameplay idea, and I really enjoyed the graphics style. The platforming mechanics could be definitely be tightened a bit. I look forward to playing the enhanced version!

hypp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Cool and minimal. A bit hard for me though.

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:59pm

@Foxtacy

You asked me what I meant by "The platforming mechanics could be definitely be tightened". Specifically, I was thinking 3 things.

The fall feels very floaty. I believe you're moving the hero down at a constant velocity instead of an accelerated velocity. It gives falling an unrealistic feel.

Also,if you hit space while holding left/right arrow, you lose all of your horizontal velocity. Also, the light doesn't turn on/off unless you tap space a second time.

Finally, (and the least important) if you hold up, you will jump as soon as you fall. This isn't a huge deal, and may be by design.

I hope this helps. None of these issues really took away from the enjoyment of the game.

CollabGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very simple, clever concept! Good graphics and would love to see more :D

May 8, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Man, i tried 10 times to get past the second level, with no success. That space to squeeze your char between the ghosts is very tight! Also, the gravity is kind of weird, the char falls too slow!

Overall, nice game, with cool graphics and music (maybe the jump is a little odd though)! Good job!

LoneStranger says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:17am

I like the simple art. Sometimes the controls were weird when other buttons were pressed, like SPACE. Jumping didn't feel realistic.

evilDan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:49am

Freakin' awesome. A bit difficult but the overall concept and execution are super clever. Would have been good to have a few easy stages to get used to the flashlight mechanic. Good game :D

MegaBrutal says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:59am

Awesome game - nice art style, nice music, great mood. The problem with it, however, that it's not very intuitive. In many cases I didn't even understand why I died. Also, I heard water but I didn't see it - maybe it's because of my monitor, but still it should be more apparent. I like the Space Invaders like figures. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]