April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Guiding Light

by ilo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my minimalist game for Ludum Dare 26.

Controls - arrow keys to move. C to run. X to scan.

Leave a comment and I'll check out your game, and let me know if there are any issues with the downloads. Cheers. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#54Mood3.82
#135Theme4.04
#216Overall3.54
#271Graphics3.48
#318Audio3.10
#332Fun3.23
#543Innovation3.13
#961Humor1.67

Comments

iiechapman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05am

Very simple, yet very cool, thank you man I enjoyed this!

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09am

That was quick. Thanks! :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

Nice take on the theme. :)

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice idea :)

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Pretty fun game.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice and simple, but very effective. Great work :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

A bit too hard, would like the player to go just a bit faster...
I really liked the footstep sounds and the really minimalistic style.

Aevek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Seriously cool. I love the stealth mechanics in such a simple visual game (that still looks great, btw).

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

v.moody ..i love the sound and the atmosphere :)

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

@blasphemous: you know you can run, right?

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I like this game. There have been a few entries with the block navigating a blocky map, but none with a stealth mechanic.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

Very fun to play! Some times a little annoying but with patience you can do it!

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Really cool idea, I played it for a good 20 minutes, but a lot of that was just trying to find the door on the second "dark" level. Sometimes it would shine, and sometimes it wouldn't. I eventually gave up when I thought I was at the door but it hit another corner.

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

5/5 on theme, because you managed to create a great mood/atmosphere with such minimalistic graphics. For just a bunch of squares and rectangles, it really got my heart racing.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

Great concept, and nice mechanics with the scanning and non agent characters.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very different from last time, but very good !

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Great use of theme! You packed a lot of action into just a few squares. Good work!

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:46am

spot on moodsetting with absolutely no details, i love it.
i just wish the maze wasn't so large or that the lights flickered more often. perhaps if scanning could reveal a bit of your surroundings also. there was a lot of standing around waiting, which can heighten tension when used carefully, just that there might have been a tad too much waiting - which can have the opposite effect.
regardless, it's a minor pacing nitpick. this was an entertaining game, and man do i love the sound effects. very ominous.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

Great visual style and use of theme! Would be cool if the light actually helped you see!

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16am

Really great atmosphere here. But I think the map could be smaller.

Gungnir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22pm

I really enjoyed the first part of this, I felt it was building up to something great but I have to say I was disappointed.

The darkness and the flickering just didn't work for me, it wasn't fun or engaging, just tedious.

The first part felt like it could be a stealth game with a nice amount of panic mixed in.

Suggestion: take the mechanic of sound attracting attention and build the game on that. Agents will also emit sound (waves) for you to react to. Makes it sort of a cat and mouse on an even playing field.

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:08pm

really fun and have a deep atmosphere with that sounds and forms

a bit hard for me xD

good job!

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:06pm

This is cool. The atmosphere it creates (especially with the sound effects) is compelling. I beat the first dark level, but it's a bit too tedious to make my way through lots of mazes in the dark, mainly cuz I have to keep waiting for the lightning to figure out where I am and where I can go. It would be nice if the scan feature gave me at least some local view of what walls were near.

dansludumdare says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Didn't work on 32 bit Windows 7. Screenshots looked cool though!

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:30am

Wow! I love the feel of this game. It's fantastic! The level in the dark is pretty challenging. Running down corridors with naught but your own footsteps to accompany you...

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:53am

Too hard. I wish the you could turn off your flashlight so they couldn't see you when you are in the dark. It was just too hard. But it was fun. Good job :)

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:03am

I was able to get out of bounds while running. >.< Otherwise, this is solid work. :D

davidpeter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:40pm

A+ mood, but I often got frustrated waiting for the light to come on so I could see the surroundings. I think you could've bumped down the intervals between flickers a bit. This hampered the fun, but overall a very, very solid game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]