April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrianarium

by Angerus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is my little game : Mondrianarium !

(The title is a last minute idea. It will do...)
Try to find the Exit and do the best score!

[Controls]

Arrows : Move the avatar !
P: Pause.
Menu navigation: Mouse Click.

UPDATE :
�Corrected bug Blue room
�Change controls and collisions system.
�Add some text info inside the tuto

Enjoy!


P.S: For those with a small screen: Right click on the application and then on "Show all" option !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#215Theme3.92
#443Graphics3.19
#494Innovation3.19
#679Humor2.06
#872Mood2.57
#987Overall2.75
#1083Fun2.36

Comments

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

Interesting little maze game - I found the controls a little difficult at first (didn't realize I was steering rather than just moving). I also wasn't sure why my player icon changed - it seemed to happen in the red rooms, but there wasn't any more feedback, so I couldn't figure that out. The relatively frequent death made it a bit of a challenge, but the look was great, and I love the Mondrian in the theme.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:46am

Mondrian A-Mazing ;) !

pythong says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:48am

I had to restart several times because I thought the controls were broken - until I realized that you only move by playing up, and left/right turn your player around :/. This is kinda confusing, that's why I'm writing it here for other players ;)

Adbook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

This is a good game. I like the idea :)
The controls were a bit hard to master in the beginning but after that, there were fine :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Controls are a bit hard, but really good graphics and game overall.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Neat concept! I like the idea of being an interactive object inside a painting :D Controls are a bit rough, though being constrained to straight line movement fits the setting well! Nice job!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Beautiful colors and smooth movement. I agree with pythong about the controls though. In GTA2 the 'up is walk' works, but since the turns are instant here, it would be better to have absolute controls. Unfortunately the goal is not clear to me, and the maze doesn't fit on my screen (900px high). From your screenshots it appears there are multiple levels, but I didn't get past level 1.

Angerus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

@everyone: Thanks for all your comments! I'm currently working on new controls (take me a bit of time because I have to tweak my collision system)! Keep in touch!

@Dining Philosopher: Try to right click on the application and choose "Show all" option! And saddly, there is only one level!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would, and played several times. Very nice job!

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Nice game, unfortunately on my pc it runs a little bit slow, but i liked the idea.

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I really enjoyed this. Great minimalistic and visual idea!

thatwhichis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Think I may be one of the first people to try it with new controls? Movement seems to be based on the direction I press rather than as previously described; very intuitive update. Definitely a step in the right direction!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:57am

Not sure I understand what is going on... is the tutorial working? :)

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:02am

Just the one level, and it looks like you changed the game after the compo ended? That's a big no-no.

Lythom says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:08am

I there, here's some feedback.
What I loved :
- Theme interpretation
- Visual style
What imo could be improved :
- "You're dead" with no warning rooms, so annoying. I understood that the level had to be played several time to be completed but it's juste so frustrating and the gameplay is not dynamic enough to have this supermeetboy feeling of "nevermind let's go again".

good overall, thanks for the game !

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Has potential. Some "door portals" seemed badly positioned and unuseable. Don't like the death without warning aspect.

f7f5 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I liked your take on the theme and the graphics. I'm not so sure about this gameplay approach that leaves the player almost powerless -- entering a room blindly not knowing what's inside and not having any control about what happens. The only skill needed is memory.
Also, from the previous comments it seems you changed the game after the deadline?

Angerus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:09am

@stevejohnson & @f7f5 : Hello ! Thanks for yours comments. Let me clarify the situation about the update: I didn't change the core game or added some new features! The point is that the game had some bugs with the collision and controls system and then I just debugged it. I apologize if that look like a major change but I don't think that was the point here : I just wanted my game to be playable!( especially, as you said stevejohnson, with its lack of content). Hope that explanation clarify the whole thing! Enjoy!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]