April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nano

by psychopsam - Jam Entry

A/D to yaw

W/S to pitch

Q/E to roll

LMB tap or hold to blast.

You must destroy the anti-matter(purple shapes). The presence of anti-matter has "quietened" the quantum foam.

Anti-matter seeks out strings. Then reproduces.

When all strings are converted the game is lost and you start again.

Destroy all anti-matter to restore chaos to the quantum foam. 5 levels so far then it resets.

TIP: If you can't find any stray anti-matter particles their presence distorts the quantum foam so look around for distortions then look up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Graphics(Jam)3.71
#227Overall(Jam)3.27
#236Fun(Jam)3.00
#249Mood(Jam)3.05
#258Audio(Jam)2.95
#300Theme(Jam)3.19
#354Innovation(Jam)2.71
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45pm

I love the Tron-style world and the floaty FPS flying and shooting. Unfortunately the controls are so floaty, and the shots so slow, that it's hard to feel skillful or do much more than blunder around.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Cool game, I liked the quantum theme and the voxel graphics.

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Fun game. Having the text always there in front of what you're doing can be a little irritating though.

psychopsam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

@gilmore606 - Could you fraps a section or something so I can see the performance of the game on your computer please?

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45am

Cool style and idea (yay science!), but I have to agree with the floaty controls and slow projectile speed making the game a little unfair. The exponential replication means the only sound strategy is to kill anti-matter straight away. On the first few levels this is okay because they're all close together and you start off facing towards them... but it goes from being a little too easy to virtually impossible around the 4th or 5th level. Still, the style is great, the mood is cool, and it fits the theme well.

psychopsam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Thanks guys for the insightful feedback. Yes the balancing and speed of controls and bullets have been noted. I'll put these changes into the post-release.

Hatscat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Indeed our games looks like each other in many ways, so it's a good game ;)
I agree with other comments, moving controls and targeting are hard to master. But graphics and music are greats!

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:07am

I like the graphics and the music, the ground reminds me of the Simpsons 3D episode :D and with the TRON aesthetics :)

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15am

Cool game! Reminds me of Darwinia. Very cool stuff, but controls a little bit tough .)
Liked the sound and graphics.

AlvaroH says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:24am

Cool Game! Congratulations

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:27am

First 6DoF-shooter I've seen this Ludum Dare and pretty decent one too! Are instruction texts supposed to be visible all the time or did my computer do something wonky?

Typedeaf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:41am

Very nice graphics and audio, I liked the old school controls but I can understand if they're not for everyone :)

Being able to accelerate and decelerate would be pretty helpful I think, and it seems a bit counter-intuitive to fire with the mouse but not steer with it. Other than that, short and fun :)

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Pretty good, I like the feeling of the controls and atmosphere it has.

psychopsam says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:14am

Thanks for playing and the great comments so far. @kyyninen yeah I put the instructions up all the time just to make it easy to reference without having to click on another screen.

Norgg says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:34am

The graphics and physics and theme here are all really cool. The controls were a bit tricky, some way to slow down or go backwards would have been nice, and the mouse didn't seem to be used other than clicking, so it could just have been entirely keyboard.

psychopsam says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:44am

I was thinking of making it just the mouse but the mouse I was using during development kept skipping all over the screen and I didn't have a replacement. Stupid, but there you go.

Benjamin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:42pm

The music, the geometric shapes and permanent credits on screen in retro font really make me feel I'm trapped inside an old amiga demo. I like the flight feeling but it really needs enemies and ground collision to make it a proper game I think.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]