April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Viking vs Minimalist Hipsters

by reverso13 - Jam Entry

Minimalist hipsters discover a portal that takes them to the viking era, and all they see is blood and skulls. They want to change that to something more minimalist. But ByeKing is not going to allow it. Now he is angry and he wants to kill all the hipsters!!

Controls:

W/Up - Jump
A/Left - Move left
D/Right - Move right
Space - Attack


Developed by:

Alberto Gomez Riveiro (Programmer)
Julio Duque Montero (Artist)
Ruben Rincon Garcia (Music & FX)

Also thanks to Alejandro Miralles Infante for helping with the code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#19Humor(Jam)3.82
#101Fun(Jam)3.40
#133Audio(Jam)3.40
#187Graphics(Jam)3.57
#240Overall(Jam)3.23
#262Mood(Jam)2.99
#337Theme(Jam)3.11
#382Innovation(Jam)2.61

Comments

ElScootro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

The game crashed a few times right after I got the first two hipsters and stepped out the door.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

I don't much enjoy the dialogue, but the graphics are very nice!

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

the dialogue skipped forward too quickly. Nice unique take on the theme

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

I have uploaded a zip with the game. It works better if you download it :)

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Hm, I didn't know there's such a term as "minimalist hipster" #TIL #LD48 #YOLO

I agree that the dialog runs too fast. I love how the screen shakes as the axe hits the ground, really gives that heavy impact feel.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Interesting take on the theme.

The dialog was a bit vulgar for the competition. I could see some folks being offended.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

This was a lot of fun, one of the most fun I've played so far. It had some good laughs.

As for the complaints about the dialog, maybe replacing the offending words with viking words that start with the same letter?

kingtharg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

Entertaining subversion of the theme, I like it. Gameplay itself felt satisfying, if not a little floaty. I felt like an angry viking would feel a bit more heavy.
All in all great fun though.

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08am

Thanks for the comments.
There was no intention to offend anybody with the dialogs, I'm sorry if that happened. As english is not my main language I didnt realize how bad it sounds. I will try to delete the last part somehow ;)

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Hmm...I can see where some of the other commenters are coming from, but the game promised vikings, blood, and skulls, and it did deliver...overall, it was pretty fun and a well put-together entry!

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Ok I uploaded a new version "clean version". I hope you enjoy it :)

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Nice graphics, love the rotating door.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

That was needlessly violent, and funny. Attacking didn't seem to work half the time when I jumped which was a little frustrating. Happened most often right at the apex of a jump (when trying to attack the door). As the ground raised up it got a lot easier.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

I must be cursed by the random number generator. Twice in a row I got a level with an impossible first jump.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

It's nice. I like the graphics too.

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Loved the humor, I thought for a second we were going to play the hipsters but to my delight we get to kill them!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice game

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Tried two times but it crashed both times after stepping out of the first door. I really like the art and music regardless

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I really enjoyd hitting those hipsters, this game is quite addictive.

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

@cinnamonmelonpig
If it fails try to download it from the link. That version works ;)
It has something to do with the website is hosted in I guess..

GreyShock says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Ahi, reventando la puerta de Doraemon :D Esta gracioso el concepto y el rollete de usar las colinas para pegarle al portal!

Lo que mas me ha gustado es la musica :)

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Está muy chulo, es como mezclar el Lost Vikings con Day of the tentacle y alex kidd en uno jaja, espero que lo amplíes y le metas más cosas! :)

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Odin is a minimalist hipster! Odin is pissed off!

Loved it! Great work, love the music & the style. Axing hippies ftw.

Badger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

fun game

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Ah ! Nice game.
The gameplay is a bit simple but it works pretty well.
The dialog goes to fast for reading them, sad :(.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Here I was thinking our game would be the only one with a hipster in it :) I dig it!

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

the game was a bit glitchy, but i adored the graphics and good god, the music is so very good. that is some chunky retro badassery. mr. garcia is a talented motherfucker

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:42pm

GREAT MUSIC!

Obviously, this is a crowd-pleaser, but I felt that the RAGE could have felt more RAGEy -- I need air-dash and power-slams!

Still, hard not to like.

bytegrove says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Hahaha, awesome! The movement felt a little weird though imo, maybe try turning up the acceleration, air resistance and friction? Otherwise a fun and cheeky game, nice use of the theme!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Being a viking and killing minimalist hipsters with an axe... It's impossible to dislike it!

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:32pm

NIce job! Very satisfying to take an axe to a bunch of hipsters ;D Great art style and it made me chuckle!

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I adore the narratives and enjoyed the game, well executed. Very funny :)

chowdy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great humor and graphics. I had a lot of fun choppin' hipsters. Great job!!

cwilloughby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:57am

Haha, super cool. Liked the theme and totally wasn't expecting the gameplay. Great work!

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47am

Hahahahaha. Awesome game. Nice graphics, good humor and really fun to play :)

Adipson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Very fun...There's something in the sound from Golden Axe game now ? (kick and the cry) lol

reverso13 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Thanks everyone for the ratings :)
@Adipson nop the sounds are from movies not from games :P

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHA... I understand you dude. I know a lot of Minimalist Hipsters. Congratz!

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:48am

One of the funniest games I've played :D The controls are good too, love the hipster dude

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:44am

Was a bit of fun for a while, felt like it needed more tie to the theme and the dialogue was a bit too fast and jarring for my tastes, but it's something that's more personal methinks. Do love the animation style, it certainly has a cartoony, not serious vibe to it! I dig it :).

Dmitrix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

lol, hipsters. XD It's a little gory though...

JohnnySix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:35am

Bonus points for humour - the 8-bit style sounds were nice. I thought the hipsters would fight back - maybe if you work on it post-jam - hipsters could hurl projectile coffee or moustaches.

0beah says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:37am

Quite funny. A bit too much on the dialogue. The loss screen gave me a chuckle "Oden became a hipster".

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Nice game . in my opinion it needs more gameplay- or i did'nt the part where it changes .

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Die, minimalist scum! Love the scream sounds.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Nice artwork and music. Took a minute to figure out that I was supposed to be attacking the door. Great sense of humor on this one, and the first cross between hipsters and vikings that I've seen.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:07am

well that was different -- intersting take on the theme -- good effort.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Very funny game. Y U NO LOVE MINIMALISM ART?! Just kidding. Nice game!

reverso13 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:46pm

thanks for the comments guys :D

CAukamp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Great

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Very funny theme you got for your game... After destroying the door some times it gets pretty dull, but the art style and humour makes mi smirk ;) the background music is very cool

May 7, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Craziest game idea so far! Cool and fun game, except a little short.

Very nice pixel art, congratulations!

robotality says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:08am

Music and sfx are awesome and the game looks like alot of fun. At one point after the house level in the begining flash crashed because of the game.

May 8, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Ha, this has the best name yet. The intro is also great, I luaghed when they hung up the painting :D

May 11, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I love all the hipster-bashing games people are making this LD. Each one of them is more hilarious than the other. :D

davidpeter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:58pm

It froze for a couple seconds during the same time the other commenters were complaining about. Not sure what that's about. Overall, entertaining game!

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice nice!, love the art!, i was able to "kill" the portal around 500m !

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Mwahahah, very fun.
I destroyed the hipsters door!!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]