April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from Minimalism

by Pisti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you cannot play the game right now, please wait with rating the entry and check back tomorrow - I will try to provide an installer for windows and a version for the web ported by JSIL as soon as possible (https://github.com/kevingadd/JSIL).

============================================================

A simple game based on dodging hostile space ships. You can upgrade your ship after a fixed time period - or let's say the enemies can use your ship to upgrade their own.

Controls:

Can be played with an XBox controller or the keyboard!

WASD, Arrow Keys, Left Thumbstick - Movement
Q, O, Left or Right Shift, Button X - Boost
E, P, Space, Button A - Shield

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#372Humor2.53
#478Fun3.07
#539Audio2.73
#669Graphics2.89
#758Mood2.68
#778Overall2.96
#803Theme3.29
#1014Innovation2.44
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Good and fast gameplay. A little too fast for me--I couldn't handle the attackers popping out of nowhere. But I enjoyed playing it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

kept clicking away the tutorials by accident. looks interesting though.

Frosnite says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Cool idea! Nice work on the HUD too :D

May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

A nice entry but with very difficult gameplay. The enemies usually come from the direction your going leaving very little chance of surviving.

Spiridios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

It's way to easy to bypass the tutorial screen in play. Fast and hard and I still wasn't quite sure what I was supposed to be doing. Some of the colors were hard to see on my monitor. I think you could have a decent game here with just some slight polish.

BTW, appreciate the JSIL build.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Nice game, love the concept and the art, well done :D

Qaterknan says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Quite good, nice graphics. But not very original concept.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Liked this yeah. The talking head reminded me of an episode of Red Dwarf so that was a good start ;)
Then the gameplay itself was compelling. The regular upgrade system was a great idea. I only scored 2786 but found there's certainly a touch of tactical play involved in avoiding the herd of baddies.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Really enjoyed playing! I had to reload the game though as I skipped past the tuorial the first time and I wasn't sure if I was supposed to avoid the other things or not. Reading it helped for my following runs ;)

dek says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I like the gameplay and the parallax background, nice :) The sound was really loud, could be toned down a bit. Apart from that, all good!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]