April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ABSTRAIT

by TinyCrate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

ABSTRAIT is a minimalist abstract art generator and physics puzzle game inspired by artists such as Barnett Newman, Piet Mondrian and Kazimir Malevich. Explore with the creative painter mode or challenge yourself with the physics based puzzles. Learn through experimentation and more importantly have fun.

Built in HTML5/JavaScript with Box2DWeb and JawsJS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#55Theme4.21
#137Innovation3.73
#283Graphics3.46
#563Overall3.16
#611Mood2.81
#843Fun2.67
#1008Humor1.56
#1015Audio1.67

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

Fun little puzzler! Nice application of theme :)

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

I like this. It's not really clear how it works, which is a good thing - but I think if you want me to experiment with it to figure out the mechanics, it should move a bit faster. I found myself getting impatient.

great looks and sound. very nice

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49am

Great concept! I had way more fun messing around with the editor than actually solving puzzles. haha

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

You need to keep working on this post-comp: great concept!

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59am

Nice game and good use of theme. It is great that you included the editor! Worked in Chrome but I got this error in Firefox "TypeError: e.srcElement is undefined"

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

I agree that you should keep working on this, it has a ton of potential.

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

Yeah, the editor is really fun to mess around with and I am a fan of the appearance. However, the puzzles seem to be quite hard because of the tile disappearing when resetting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02am

I like this game, it's a work of art. Good execution of the game.

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Rad stuff, I'd love to see the game expanded upon with more parts 'n puzzles :)

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13am

bit confusing to start with, wasn't until reading the comments I discovered there was puzzles. Still pretty neat, just need better intro structure.

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

nice little puzzle game. simple audio would have added soooooo much.

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice game! I love the colors. And the puzzles are great!

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Great idea and super nice visuals! It's a bit hard to play, though. It would be better if one could move the pieces after a failed attempt instead of always starting from zero again. I'm confused - does it have audio? Because nothing's playing here (Chromium 26 on Debian), but the second Commenter mentioned "great sound".

DaveDobson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:40am

Cool geometric puzzles, but they were pretty hard. I like to simple colors and appealing look. I agree with the suggestion that it be possible to move pieces rather than having to place them from scratch.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I wish that I didn't have to point to the screen with my finger to solve the puzzles, definitely some control issues that could improve this. Having said that it's a very original thing and I was pretty impressed

Broxxar says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Cool game, painter mode seems a bit buggy. Puzzles could be a bit more challenging.

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Nice concept. good game :)

Cosmologicon says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Cool idea but not a lot of content. You know Puzzle Three is extremely easy, right? :P

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Trying to wrap my head around level 5 with no luck.

Cool puzzler, but a bit difficult to master the mechanics properly. Almost finished it but gave up on level 5.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Interesting puzzle / art tool. Nice to see another type of minimalism art in this contest.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]