April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triangle Force

by HeiShun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

########
I didn't see that "contents" included music.
I scratched it entirely. (commented everything music related actually)
So you might see things related to music in comments, but they are not included anymore.
Sorry...
########

Triangle Force.
You are a triangle trying to survive against your agressors, the Squares!
Both you and your enemy are backed up by Circles...
Who will win?

---------------------------------

Do not move any files..
Just click on the jar to launch the game (or java -jar)

---------------------------------

Gameplay - Keyboard + Mouse
Use ESDF to move. Left click to shoot.
Right click or space to change colors.
You can pass a lot of texts with Enter.

---------------------------------

Couldn't/Didn't test on Mac and Linux, sorry!
It seems like the Mac version works!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Audio3.76
#198Theme3.94
#253Fun3.35
#267Overall3.47
#363Mood3.13
#560Innovation3.12
#906Graphics2.59
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

I like it!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

This game was definitely worth the download. Very well produced, however it is way too hard.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really good audio-work here! The game seemed to be running to fast on my computer and made it hard to play. Nice game though

spliter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Loved the tone of the game and the music was awesome :]

Coruon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

It's a very interesting concept and I like the idea of having to throw yourself in front of green bullets as a red triangle to save the elder, but it starts off very difficult, in my opinion. I didn't last long. Maybe I'm just bad at games :P Needs some tweaking, ramping up to higher difficulty as the game goes on. The music was good, I liked it and it fit well to the gameplay/story.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Interesting idea for a shooter. Spacebar should skip text, I didn't realise enter did it at first and sat there waiting like a noob. Using ESDF instead of WASD felt very wrong to me, making the arrow keys also work would have been nice. I wish there was a way to skip the tutorial and get back in the fight quickly after I died.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

The music is epic and the action is frantic. Great job!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

A truly amazing audio effort and pretty fun gameplay to boot. nice to see some narrative structure in there too. Would have been nice to restart on the same stage I died on, this discouraged me to replay.

Mysterarts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Hey,
The mood is great!
However, the game size isn't minimalist (especially on dropbox) :p Maybe you should find a faster host...
Good game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Great! The graphics are very simple, minimalists :)
I like the audio as well, it gives to the game some mood.

Mysterarts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Oh and the OS/X version works for me :)

HeiShun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Thank you all for your comment, but I must apologized.
I didn't actually remembered that contents included music, so I scratched it entirely.
I am really sorry.

Thanks for your comments though.
But the game must have lost charms without the music. D:

HeiShun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Also, for the ESDF thing, that is for the QWERTY/AZERTY users alike (I'm personally on an AZERTY keyboard).
If I had time, I would have make two buttons at the beginning of the game, one for QWERTY users, the other one for AZERTY users. But... Oh well. :)

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I voted 5 stars to Audio. Sometimes silence is a choice.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Wow, pretty difficult when the triangle comes in. But I loved the mechanics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]