April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Square Wars

by stromchin - Jam Entry

- One button RTS game.
- Units move by themselves.
- The objective is to destroy your enemy's factories (They still don't have a health bar though).
- 4 types of units with different colors.
- Click on factories to change the type of unit they spawn.
- Click on a unit to change to unit camera. Click on the unit again to return to the map view.


We are still going to be working on this, but the version for Ludum Dare (the link above) will still point to the Jam entry, for the latest version go to http://bitly.com/SquareWars

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#111Theme(Jam)3.72
#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#211Overall(Jam)3.30
#257Fun(Jam)2.94
#316Humor(Jam)1.96
#341Graphics(Jam)2.94
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#393Audio(Jam)2.20

Comments

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Good idea. Certainly has potential. Keep the good work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

This is awesome idea love the gameplay.. defiantly agree some serious potential with this game..

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

I enjoy these types of games where you can sit back and let the work happen. Sometimes my units would not defend my factories, but good work!

Avrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

A little hard to get into at first since there's no explanation as to what makes each colour different and the whole battlefield is pretty chaotic, but eventually some patterns emerge and it starts to make sense. I definitely agree, would be interesting to see a version of this with more flushed out mechanics, map variety, etc.

x2l2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12am

nice game but have some problems in android, can you upload linux version?

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

Yes, x2l2, I just uploaded the linux version. I don't use linux so I can't give you support for it. If it asks for the data folder, please let me know, but you can find it in the link for the windows version.
http://bit.ly/SquareWarsLinux

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

@Avrec: you are right, but we wanted to do it that way, at least when publishing it at first, to see how people would react and see if they would end up seeing the differences in the units. And see if they would come up with their own explanations.

@qdowngames: The AI for the units is pretty dumb right now, but if units were smarter the match might last much longer. It's something we're considering though. The spawn rate of red units is higher so they're good for defending.

Infernal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

I sat watching many of my green guys sitting there not shooting at anything.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27am

@Infernal: yes you are right, Green guys have a very low fire rate. we are going to add some way to see how long it takes for the next shot. Like some sort of bar, or pulse or something to indicate that they're reloading. I think there may be a bug too somewhere, because one of my green guys seemed to be sitting there too not doing anything.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

I spent a number of minutes playing this to figure everything out. I'm still losing most of the time though - not sure exactly how to make it such that my units defend my factories. I played this a number of times though to see if I could improve.

I think the main issue I have right now is that it's difficult to see where battle lines are drawn since the units don't behave in a predictable way - you're not quite sure exactly where red units will go for example (many of them seem to charge out into the field). I think having the units behave differently as well as having certain characteristics will make this very, very interesting.

Fully innovative and really interesting to play/watch.

NiftyLlama says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

This is addicting, but it needs work.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I rather like these experimental little games. They're like a more complicated version of a wind up toy. It's fun to set things up and then watch them go. :)

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice one, I used to create quite a similiar game in the past.

kazukishida says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Add in more UI, guides, and a smashing soundtrack, and this game is gonna be real good! Excited to see future versions of this game! Keep it up :)

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Quite nice. :)

Robrock55 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:36am

A very good game, great mechanics behind.
It was just difficult the first time, when I didn't know the colors but after, it was all fun !

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very fun, looking forward to playing the post-comp version! What is coolest is clicking on the soldiers to see their viewpoint!

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20pm

It's very satisfying to see them fight. The visuals are quite pleasing and it's just cubes. I discovered on my own that you could click on a unit to zoom in, that was a pleasant surprise. Great job!

The audio is a bit quiet and the music stops playing in game.

naughtyloose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

ok that was awesome and I think the concept has a lot of potential. However you have to work a lot on communicating to the player what does what or why for example certain units only attack certain other units and stuff. Because I had no idea what does what but I still liked it. :) Improve that and it'll turn into a great game!

Hegemege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Nice game in overall, although it could use some work. Would've been helpful to know exactly what each unit does, and what beats what. Maybe the enemy has an advantage since it starts with modified factories, while the player starts with all red?

Anyways, great concept, it was thrilling to watch them fight each other (even though I lost every time) :)

yellowlemming says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:46am

a rather good game but a tutorial wouldn't go amiss and it is very difficult to predict where units will actually go

May 4, 2013 @ 5:50am

Great 3d game... And it's addicting to me :D

Ernyz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:00am

That was really interesting! :) I liked to stick to some unit and see how it fights, what it does ;D

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Lots of potential on this one, keep at it! :)

ataxkt says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I didn't feel I had much control over anything! Keep at this one though!

May 9, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Good idea, I liked the concept! ...but it was difficult to understand relation between units (okay you said it was on purpose but I don't like it) And maybe add some music ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]