April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

JuggleSim

by mr_tag - 48 Hour Compo Entry

JuggleSim is a minimalistic juggling simulator in which you are controlling the two hands catching and throwing more and more balls.

Play it alone and prepare to get your brain whacked (or your hemispheres synced, as you wish :).
Or play with a buddy (one hand each) in coop mode (reach the highest score together!) or in versus mode (don't let a ball slip through on your side!).

Please post your scores! (have you played coop or alone?)

Thanks for playing!
Dominik

Tools / frameworks used:
Flashpunk (rocks! :)
Flashdevelop
Paint.net
bfxr.net
lamedropXP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Innovation3.89
#133Fun3.57
#201Overall3.57
#370Graphics3.31
#713Mood2.73
#748Audio2.38
#858Humor1.84
#956Theme3.09
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58am

haha awesome! i got 3051

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

kinda hard for me, but good concept

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

amazing idea!

this is what ludum dare is about, very well done

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

nice with two game modes! we had alot of fun.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Nice concept, but incredible hard (i haven't tried to play it with another player).

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Fun to play with. What else do you want?

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

hard in solo !
Very nice simple/polish graphics !
Love the idea and gamemplay

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Aaagh. AAAGH. AAAAGHGHGHG!!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I couldn't get past 300. :P I would think it would be either with co-op/versus though.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

This is extremely well-polished and meets the theme very well. The single player mode was fun and a bit frantic to control two separate players at once. I'm sure it would be fun to do with a friend, too. What it really needs is an AI to play against.

HeiShun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Nice concept!
Had to take some time to gain a somewhat good controls of both "hands".
Only tried solo btw.

Nacho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Great fun!

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Cool concept. Nice graphics. I got to 12673 and got bored :) (or lost).

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Very nice idea! Execution is nice too.

CAukamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Hey, thats just plain nice. Had a lot of fun. Very innovative.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Great game mechanics. The versus mode was a good move. Can only guess that this gets really fun with another player.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Love this concept. It's got a pretty harsh learning curve (even on easy) but it's rewarding when you get it right. If only I could stop crossing my balls in the air... Well done though, and I especially like the control scheme.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I love it. 1 player makes my eyes part. In a good way.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Okay, this was a *lot* of fun. Really nice extension of the ball and paddle genre. I don't think you can actually knock a ball into the air with a ball you're holding in your hand when you're juggling for real but who cares because this was awesome.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Got 2656!

Cool little game. I like the multitasking required (in solo play) to keep playing for a long time - the constant looking back and forth between hands. Tricky but felt like an achievable goal.

Thanks for not making the balls any faster than they are! ;)

Dissing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:26am

Quite good multiplayer!

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:32am

Very cool :) Very smooth gameplay and presentation. A little background music will go a long way later. I wish the balls were a little faster; perhaps they get sped up later into the game?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]