April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mnmlsm

by villhest - Jam Entry

-- Size 7,6MB --

Controls:
WASD + mouse. Click and drag objects / throw sideways. Space to throw forward.
To win, put all objects in the center hole before the time runs out.

--

Hi everyone!

Here's my solo submission for the LD26 jam, MNMLSM.

It may be a little hard, but I swear I've been able to beat all levels! Practice makes perfect - It's all in the wrist:)
There's even something special hidden in there somewhere.

Minimalism - A very challenging theme - which may have been a good thing as I tend to get overly ambitious.
At least this time I was able to finish (sort of).

Standalone builds available by request.

Good luck everyone!

Tools used:

Engine
- Unity 4 Pro trial, w/some standard assets <3

Graphics
- Blender
- Photoshop CS6
- Paint.net
- CrazyBump

Sound
- My guitar
- GarageBand
- Audacity
- Potato

Fonts
- www.fontsquirrel.com

Code
- MonoDevelop
- Additional scripts/snippets from wiki.unity3d.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#171Audio(Jam)3.26
#181Graphics(Jam)3.59
#222Mood(Jam)3.11
#259Theme(Jam)3.29
#338Humor(Jam)1.89
#376Innovation(Jam)2.62
#408Overall(Jam)2.79
#460Fun(Jam)2.32

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:53pm

"Quite difficult" is a bit of an understatement.

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02am

@SomeNetworkGuy

Try moving them from the side. You can practice in the help scene :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

I figured out how to put the clutter in by standing back a bit when grabbing the cubes and spheres. However, there's still too much clutter to move in such a short period of time. Adding another 60 seconds would have made it more playable.

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

@GaTechGrad

Thanks for playing! You're right about the technique. I've beaten all leves several times, and was afraid that extending the time would make it too easy. I'll see about extending it a little!

By the way, did you find the secret?

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

HAAAARD! but good :)

krutech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice. Follows the theme, looks good and sounds nice. Good job!

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Almost did it, only 3 left before time went out.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Cool atmosphere. I was looking for more blocks and didn't realize it was the pillar, ran out of time, hahaha!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

This game is too difficult to be enjoyable.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Jesus, I can't control the sensitivity! You must play FPSs like a god, sir. Enjoyed what I could play!

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Dude, you have to tell me how you got those waves to work in Unity, was looking for some good documentation but didn;t find any. Love the aesthetics, would have liked if the cursor stayed more centered on the screen.

Farfin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I found it. The secret.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

Got a lot of motion sickness with this one. If the controls were tuned a little more it would be pretty slick, loved the opening title splash screen & guitar lick.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I like it. Not really "Quite Difficult", but overall fun.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I love the graphical style of this game, but it's hard as heck!

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I found two secrets! The second secret is that I'm very bad at this. *nods seriously*

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Water looked great, and a good concept. Had a heckuva time moving the objects though.

dualtagh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Cool idea, but it immediately gave me motion sickness :(

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Pretty nice mood &c. nice shader and sounds. Game impossible though due crazy mouselook

Patacorow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

The controls are a bit wonky, but fun game!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:17pm

The controls were too difficult for me to play it properly :L I think I would have enjoyed it otherwise.

stromchin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

very well executed idea

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:06am

Nice atmosphere, I love the post-process, too bad that your camera is too inprecise.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Wow nicely done, the art is amazing!

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like all the design of it, but for me I'd keep turning after stopping moving the mouse which is a control problem that made it too hard to play. Still liked it alot, hope some fix to the controls are made so I can play more.

May 10, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Quite difficult, nice music. Also, good use of the pro version of unity... :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]