April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Poor Man's Tower Defense

by UntitledQ - Jam Entry

Everybody has left to attend a party in celebration of minimalism. Meanwhile the aliens are attacking and you alone are to fend them off with your single measly laser tower and some mirrors!

You might need:
- Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable
x86: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555
x64: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=14632
- DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#77Innovation(Jam)3.59
#180Humor(Jam)2.57
#196Fun(Jam)3.09
#266Overall(Jam)3.15
#319Mood(Jam)2.77
#360Graphics(Jam)2.88
#399Theme(Jam)2.88
#451Audio(Jam)1.60

Comments

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

Looks like this is linked to the debug version, MSVCP100D.dll

UntitledQ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

You're right, good catch, thanks a ton!
Replaced it with a release build, should work now.

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

Good game with cool new mechanics. Some sound effects and music would make the game a lot more colourfull.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Hmm, lacks sounds. It is a good game though and I enjoyed playing it, so Kudos! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I can't turn :/ So it is a little hard to do so much :(
I think the explosion, when they die is awesome :D

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Original idea :) Wish more comfortable controls, but right now it looks cool!

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Wow I followed your streams from time to time and never thought your game would be that hard to beat. Ok, maybe I just dont got the controls right. I really like the idea of manipulating the shootingpath.

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24pm

whoa! Really cool! =D I like it!

TriBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25pm

This would've been a lot more user friendly if the mirror had it's pivot point in the middle.

reheated says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

This is a very clever take on both tower defense and the theme.

alcazar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

Nice Entry, i like the idea

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:58am

This was a fun but challenging tower defense game. It was fun trying to aim the beams. The graphics had a lot of character. Nice work.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Fun :P I think sound would have made this one of the best games here... :L

nicso says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44pm

sorry but you are way too much out of the theme :(

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

You watched me play, Sound guy just failed... lol. Great Idea, love the mechanics of mirrors. Fun all around. No sound = minimalism I guess.... maybe just 1 sound..

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Clever mechanic, but very difficult.

Dew says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:50am

I made a tower defence too!! The idea of multiple path is fresh and great :D

manax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:07am

Nice gameplay idea. Although general angles seems like a good idea, it might have worked better with more regular angles (like 45 degree increments). Controls were a bit... surprising... at first.

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:24pm

This is a really fun and hard game which can be really frantic at some times.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Nice game, well done!

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Great concept. I think the mirror controls could improve a bit, especially since the pivot point changes based on... Randomness? Definitely needs audio, but overall I like it.

Tifu says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Most original Tower Defence I've seen in a long time, but very very hard. The mirror doesn't seem to rotate how I'd expect, like around the centre? Good job, even if I suck horribly at it :)

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:51pm

fun and pretty. lots of enemies and interesting mechanics. nothing to do with minimalism though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]