April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondricraft

by GAFBlizzard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This project uses Flixel (http://www.flixel.org).

It can be used to create doodles inspired by Mondrian
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piet_Mondrian).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#294Theme3.82
#320Graphics3.39
#484Innovation3.21
#812Overall2.93
#906Mood2.53
#1135Fun2.27
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Neat idea, and fun to create little Mondrian paintings. I had a little bit of trouble with the rectangles using the Web version - they covered up all my lines, which I don't think was supposed to happen. But the line part worked great - I loved being able to separate my crossing lines and make cool images.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

This is really impressive, the fact that no matter what you do it can look incredibly similar to a Mondrian piece is awesome!
Nice job!

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

i had the same issue with the fill rectangles breaking out of the expected area.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

I liked what you can achieve with this. Maybe have a tutorial/cheat sheet sidebar? The commands were really hard to remember, and losing your image every time you checked it out with Q is rough.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

Good suggestion, what I should do is put the command cheat sheat on the HTML page. I don't know if I'm allowed to edit that since the submission deadline is past, though.

And about fill rectangles breaking out of their area -- do you mean the E drag rectangle, or the fill with D? D fills entire regions (and can also change the color of drag rectangles and delete them). Using D to fill rectangles completely is the easy way to do it.

I only included the drag rectangle so I could recreate this: http://academic.udayton.edu/PhillipMagnuson/soundpatterns/microcosms/micropix/min_mondrian.jpg

That painting was also part of the reason why I didn't include a drag rectangle option sideways instead of just up and down. :P

evoker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

Nice work! Just going to echo the suggestion to have the list of controls on the side or somewhere.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

I like it. But it's not a game. :-(

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

If I'm allowed I'll put the controls next to it. :D

And yeah, it's not a game. I'd like to have thought of some sort of game to use the painting-creation concept, but partly I didn't think of one and partly I didn't have time.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Cute!

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54am

Well, I tried to do something similar but only came half way. Works well, but let's face it. it's not really a game

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56am

I wanna give this to Mondrian as a gift. I can't imagine his face lol.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56am

So simple, but I like playing with this.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

I'd definitely like the instructions to be visible on the painting screen - I ended up quitting accidentally a few times while trying to work out the keys.

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Technically, I suppose it's a toy, but I like it. It's play for play's sake, rather than playing to achieve a goal or win-state, and that's quite minimalist itself. :)

alts says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

I'll echo the comments about the commands. I just remembered what keys were used, and cycled through them when I wanted to find something. I'm not too hung about about the fact that it isn't a game. It doesn't really claim to be.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

I added the instructions. And yes it's very much a toy. Next time around I hope to aim for a game. :)

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35am

The controls could quite easily be mapped to mouse movements:
Drag sideways = horiz line
Drag up = vert line
Single click to fill
Etc.

Otherwise nice toy

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

It was an interesting experience once I realized I was creating a Mondrian painting. But at first had no idea what was I doing and why.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

mhhhh, ok!

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Cool little toy - I found myself playing with this for longer than I expected!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

feeling arty!

Skoggy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49am

Not as much a game as a drawing program. Neat though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]