April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Art Club

by basspenguin - Jam Entry

Design a minimalist art piece that satisfies the challenge. Don't give up at the house; Try to reach the end! (easter egg?)

-----------------Controls----------------------
Mouse: Select

On-Screen Menu:
Arrows - Move/Resize
Resize or Move (Click button to change mode. Use arrows to move or resize depending on which mode you're in.)
Delete
Rotate
Submit
Add Color

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Theme(Jam)4.27
#37Innovation(Jam)3.88
#137Humor(Jam)2.76
#368Mood(Jam)2.65
#384Overall(Jam)2.85
#386Graphics(Jam)2.79
#403Fun(Jam)2.54
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

MvT says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

Nice one, but i can't understand the controls. :<

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

Hah, blasted art critics :)

I failed to draw my house, but I assume that is the end?

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

I'm going to have to echo MvT here, I couldn't figure out how to make my blot of red bigger for the life of me.

basspenguin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

@SeanAtr0n Keep trying at drawing the house. You'll get it, promise. ;)

@epaik Use the second button and the arrows to resize.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

Really enjoyed it and I don't even like art :P

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

The text was a big help, and added to the mood of the game. I did have some issues selecting smaller blocks that were in front of larger blocks.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

My only suggestion for the House (to the developer) is to cycle through more "suggestions" for the player so that they know they aren't stuck in a loop.

My suggestion for the house (for the players) is that you should keep at it, persistence is it's own reward.

Cool game.

nseward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51am

I made the Mona Lisa!

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54am

Steps? Garage? Windows? Eaves? Chimney? Shading? Landscape? Nothing Pleases you! Haha. Cool ending, and great game. I had trouble with the house but I nailed the bird on the first try. Feels good.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

Cool. was a little mad when I found out I could make my house any way I wanted. Good job :)

braneof says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

I got the house on the first try, guess I'm just a natural at minimalist art. Nice job on the game!

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:55am

I really enjoyed your take on the theme and the mood you evoked. However, the controls were quite frustrating to use (and their presentation didn't match the mood) and the text-based response system seemed quite finicky. At one point, I filled the entire screen with blue and kept getting the advice to add even more.

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

Controls a little wonky but cool :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very well done, awesome use of the theme. It was fun to guess what it wanted, even on the last level before finding out the big secret. It would be great if it could talk to you in an exciting, artsy voice.

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:04am

Nice implementation of the theme. I was expecting it to be too difficult to get an image correct, but your hints made it just the right amount of challenging. The controls were a bit hard to take since we're all so used to paint programs that can be manipulate layers so quick an easy, but this really isn't a major issue. I definitely enjoyed this one!

onzephyr says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:38am

nice concept. it fits the theme really well. the hints seemed just about right to figure it out. Only issue I ran into was selecting some smaller blocks.

JohnnySix says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:27pm

It got very tough on the later levels to maintain a consistent quality in my art and keep the critic happy. If you do an updated post-jam version, saving out the finished works would be cool, I was particularly proud of the portrait piece I created. :D

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Funny game, maybe a little bit difficult! :D

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:25am

Took me a while to grasp the controls, once I had them, I found them easy enough to use. Sometimes the messages didn't seem to stay long enough to read them. Overall great game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:12am

Kind of janky, but neat concept ^^;

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]