April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Factory Consultant

by namuol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

minimalism => optimization => assembly line

That's my train of thought.

This is a puzzle game.

The goal is to produce wadgets that match the required template.

To do this, you must place "painters" and "arrows" on the factory floor. Experiment to see how these objects work.

Inspired by Bart Bonte's excellent "Factory Balls".

PROTIP: There's a Fast-Forward button to the left of the red STOP button at the top left! (Look at the main screenshot; it's orange)

---

I Didn't Have Enough Time (tm) to:
- Make enough good puzzles
- Make music (really wanted to this time)
- Make a non-ugly level-selection screen

Having said that, I'm fairly happy with the game, and I may continue adding levels for a post-compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#40Fun3.85
#71Innovation3.91
#114Overall3.74
#220Humor2.86
#397Graphics3.26
#539Audio2.73
#639Mood2.79
#956Theme3.09

Comments

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

This was incredibly fun. It was a very unique concept.
The puzzles were really well designed and were very fun to solve. Really well done.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

@Nanolotl: Thank you!

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Great idea, very well polished. I also like the rhythmic sound it makes when the puzzle is solved.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

It looks like an automate! Great work.
The only glitch is that the font you chose is hard to read.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Yeah the font choice was a late-game decision, after I already decided with the game's resolution. Still, it's the only somewhat-readable font at that size. (merely 4x6)

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36am

The only thing really missing is a fast forward button.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Good work.

+1 fast forward button :)

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05am

Oh; there is a fast forward button! It's next to the stop button when things are moving -- click it! I guess it's too hard to see. X[

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice job Louis!

As usual, the graphics are excellent, and the mechanics and puzzels are interesting!

Next time, get music(tm)!

Also, take King's avice to writing; only write what you need. The game felt a lot like a wall of text at some point :)

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

@josefnpat Yeah, I know the text is pretty bad. I should've made it purely-optional.

I tried to make some music, but I didn't have the time to make it not-annoying, which is pretty important for puzzle games.

Thanks for the feedback~

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I love that kind of games, reminds me of Tile Factory, but much simplier. For some reason the level with belts was very hard for me.

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

Wow... very good! Very well polished (a very good tutorial AND a fast forward button in a ld game?! yes please) and very fun to play. Good job!

xel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

Super cool gameplay. Would have been nice to modify object placement while the painter is running instead of having to stop/start all the time to test, the fast forward button helped but it took me a few levels before I saw it.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00pm

OOOOH neat idea! Really unique and refreshing puzzler. Good job! Keep working on it and make it a little faster, maybe.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I love games like this, and you've certainly done well on it. The puzzle difficulty curve was well-done, which is an important factor in this kind of game. I ended up having a good challenge on the last puzzle and I'm not entirely sure I completed it the correct way (are you supposed to be able to put sprayers in the exit?). The graphics look nice and do a good job to facilitate tile placement, and the little bit of audio you have is effective. You've made a surprisingly good puzzle game for the amount of time given, and it's one of the best games I've played this competition. Good luck on your post-compo version, I look forward to seeing more levels in this.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

@SonnyBone -- Thanks! By the way, the reason it goes slow by default is so you can see what's going on closely in trickier puzzles -- there's a fast forward toggle button next to the play button.

@VDOgamez -- Thanks for playing through and giving detailed feedback! I expect there to be multiple solutions to the puzzles, and that might include exploiting quirks like putting sprayers in the exit. I applaud your solution, actually.

CappaGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:40am

Amazing game, very smart design. There seems to be a problem playing it in firefox (game stalls, won't progress to next level properly), chrome works fine though.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54am

@CappaGames -- thank you very much for the warning -- what version of Firefox and on what OS?

syawqy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

great puzzle game... I mean hard...

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice style. Loved the sounds.

@namuol: now you can play the web version of our game, hope it runs better on linux: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4570230/index.html

namuol says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:56am

@GranaDa -- thanks for the notice! Playing now!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Excellent puzzler... good fun designing the machine, very fun to play.

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Why so much text! It would be good if you happen to remove the text. I get it that instructions are need, but it is just too much too read in a single go, right out at the start.

Into the game:
"Stupidly-tight t-shirts are the latest thing". I laughed hard!
Pretty humorous stuff on there.
Game plays well.
UI is not hard to understand. Important!
Puzzle design is very good. Well thought out and well paced across levels.
Art is OK and the sound effects fit nicely.

namuol says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Yeah too much text; it was mostly there to set up a context for jokes and to provide hints, but I probably shot myself in the foot, there.

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Great game, interesting puzzle, nice UI and presentation. Well done !

keksdev says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Overall very nice idea! Had much fun playing this.

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:54am

The polish was great, but we kind of failed on a puzzle.

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:14am

Wow! Such a complex game with so few elements! Started off thinking 'well this is a little too easy' but spent ages playing!

klianc09 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Was really fun to play, but constantly crashed for me in Firefox and Opera... Won't give bad rating because of that, but I think it should be mentioned.

May 19, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Great puzzle game! Looks very smooth and feels very polished.

The only place with "too much text" (as several commenters have remarked) is at the start of the first level. Which I didn't get to read, somehow (bug?). The other bits of text are just very funny :)

Since you asked, I posted some details about how we did the sand in Aranami: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=7882

namuol says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:25am

@Frozen Fractal: Awesome, thanks for the kind words and follow-up!

Jesse Freeman says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:43am

Fun little game. I skipped all the test in the beginning ;)

Jesse Freeman says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:44am

Can't type today, meant to say I skipped all the "text" in the beginning.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]