April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE STATION

by Zaxuhe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space station is a game where you create your spaceships, hire people and battle

The idea is that you explore the world with a ship you created

The minimalism is in the battle system and the ship art :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#416Graphics3.24
#543Innovation3.13
#651Fun2.88
#721Overall3.00
#1345Theme2.00
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

I see you've played FTL, am I right? :)

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

I liked it. Like FTL but with an economy--I'd like to play a fully developed game like that (which could end up being this one.) I do think the scale of the worker cost went up really high.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

This is a very ambitious game. I love how you can design your own ship, and I like how you can order your crew to different modules. The ship combat is kind of boring though. It needs some animations and sounds to give it the feeling of urgency.
I'd like to see a post-compo version if you make one.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55am

I beat it!

Zaxuhe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Thank you for the comments, I have slightly played FLT, although my idea at the start was to combine ship creation with a simple battle system, and have tons of modules (food, animals, bedrooms, plants, like a HUGE SPACE STATION, with lots of screens that you had to scroll), of course I didn't have to implement everything I wanted (pathfinding took me ages for the nodes and people), so I had to make a VERY SIMPLE battle system, without animations and explosions (YES I LOVE EXPLOSIONS!) also I would like implement sound, I think I will do a post compo version, still thinking on ways to expand and make the idea even better, so any comment is welcome!

Zaxuhe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I didn't have time to implemet*

jwolf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

Very fun and interesting game! I can think of a ton of UI improvements and features that you could add, but what you've already accomplished is very difficult to do in such a short time frame. Definitely something that you can expand upon!

May 6, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Sadly I can't start it because it seems to be no Win 32-bit version. :(

ahm99 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I thought it was funny that I prepared a little too much for the last level. I expected it to be really hard. But I liked the gameplay. It was pretty fun. I also just now realized how to rotate :). I liked the fact that it wasn't impossible but still fun. Good job :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

amazing amount of good stuff here -- great work

metadept says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This was pretty good. Including a tutorial was very helpful. My two main suggestions are to add some kind of preview for where modules will be placed or allow them to be dragged around after placement, and to make a default crew assignment so I don't have to send my gunners into the lasers at the start of every battle. Other than that it was quite fun, although a bit too easy, and I thought the graphical style was very consistent and effective. Good job!

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Not a valid Win32 application. Damn :/ Can't play it on that old 32-bit laptop!

kibertoad says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Pretty impressive for LD entry, even if ship customization wasn't too pleasant to use :).
Hopefully you develop it further!

rubna says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:52am

Oh man, this looks like a lot of fun, but I can't play because I've got a 32-bit machine :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]