About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 20 hours, 10 minutes, 46 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 20 hours, 22 minutes, 46 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 21 hours, 10 minutes, 46 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Moonshine - TravisChen - Jam Entry

    a lost soul un-found
    wandering the city streets
    vagabond, hobo

    move through the darkness
    the light is your only friend
    streetlamps lead the way

    thirsty for an end
    moonshine brightens the lost path
    wolves fearing the light

    move: the arrow keys
    light the way: nobel spacebar
    hobo in the night


    Programming / Design: Travis Chen (@travischen)
    Art / Animation: Nolan Fabricius (@shiftlesshobo)
    Voice Over: Jonathan-Keith (http://jonathan-keith.co.uk/)

    View TravisChen's journal. | View all entries by TravisChen

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #6Graphics(Jam)4.62
    #16Audio(Jam)4.06
    #16Mood(Jam)4.07
    #52Overall(Jam)3.77
    #93Humor(Jam)3.06
    #171Fun(Jam)3.16
    #212Innovation(Jam)3.17
    #434Theme(Jam)2.75

    Comments

    Prelucid says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18am

    Cool game! I like the mood. Funny hobo! Wolves got me.

    LostDatagram says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

    Absolutely beautiful, and nice sounding voice.

    chowdy says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

    Very pretty game. I ran through the whole thing until the narrow firewalk area :)

    Tyro says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

    I liked it! I wish the audio was a little louder at times, it was hard to hear the spoken dialogue. Still, 'tis a polished and enjoyable game!

    JAH2488 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

    Wow. Amazing graphics, sound, atmosphere!

    Sestren says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

    The graphics are very well-drawn, but with the lighting combined with the transparency, it's a bit confusing at first.

    neight says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

    Excellent game. Clever and great style. Found you through twitter. Get out there and rate!

    LionelJitro says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

    Really, really good. I love the atmosphere created by the lighting. I also just love the lighting mechanic.

    Naration was a nice addition. Gamplay was rather nice as well.

    Awesome entry.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:08am

    Really cool looking game, looks well polished. Gameplay was a little slow but kept me interested until the end. Good job.

    Korda says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:20am

    I thought the light was a little too limiting but apart from that you have done a wonderful job

    MartianWatts says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

    awesome job!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31am

    i had my eye on this one for the whole weekend and it did not dissapoint -- great job you guys!

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

    The control scheme is a bit maddening, I expect to stop when I run into a barrier rather than turn and go a different way. Loved the weird story.

    Orihaus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

    Loved the parody of video game narration! Best audio I've heard yet.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

    Really awesome game you got here. I love the graphics and atmosphere it has.

    Gungnir says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45am

    Fantastic stuff - high quality finish. Some definite chuckles throughout the narration. Hobos are the unsung extra-dimensional wandering heroes of our time. Played to fin.

    Crazi456 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14am

    Love the graphics and narration!

    aaron9000 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28am

    I love the atmosphere. The lighting effects and voice overs are fantastic.

    qdowngames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

    Controls were a bit awkward at times, but I liked the almost Bastion-feel. Brilliant visuals!

    orangepascal says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:51am

    wow! love it, very cool graphics and fun game

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57am

    Beautiful game but was very difficult for me! Great atmosphere and style!

    Travis Irby says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57am

    Oh yeah this is sweeeet. Thumbs up on idea, graphics and execution :)

    timtimtimtim says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59am

    really nice art style. it's irritating turning when i run into a wall, though.

    ncgames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

    awesome. great atmosphere, love that guy's eyes

    ilovepixel says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14am

    nice graphics and voice acting really added up to the mood

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14am

    A bit hard, really good looking, good job on the voice over !

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

    nice one! Like the light effects alot!

    Chman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

    Cool voice over, you clearly put a lot of work into this. The game is fine too (amazing atmosphere), but the control scheme doesn't work well for me. Moving with arrows in an isometric world is disorienting for my brain :)

    wallmasterr says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

    just brilliant

    kidevil says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

    Nice work! I little touch of Bastion in there, with your own spin on it. Loved the Hobo character design too!

    hissssssssss says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

    This game is atmospheric as hell. Lovely.

    Exergy says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47am

    Awesome graphics and mood. Controls were a bit anoying but otherwise an awesome entry!

    deige101 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    Loved the graphics, and voice overs. Good stuff!

    DustyStylus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

    I had a nostalgic flashback to Cadaver for some reason. :D

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Very cool game! Nice voice acting, superb graphics and fun gameplay! Congratulations!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    Wonderful sprites, great audio quality, and a nice challenge. All around good stuff! Good work, everyone!

    xdegtyarev says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

    Whoa! Amazing graphics! Gorgeous narrative!
    Controls are a bit weird.
    I somehow assumed that using my lantern will kill the dogs, but it didn't work :) Not being able to stun/kill them combined with random movement of dogs resulted in some frustrated situations where I couldn't reach lampposts because dogs just stood infront of me and I couldn't do anything.
    Anyway loved the game!

    tonic says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

    Controls / moonshine pickup etc. could use a bit more tweaking and polishing. But it's pretty nice work!

    ataxkt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Amazing, this is polished gem! Nice to hear quality narration in one of these!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    This is fantastic, good job.

    lekochen says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

    Great atmosphere!

    leafo says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

    The graphics are really pretty, and I really enjoyed the voice overs. The controls were annoying at times, it was easy to hit dogs by accident. Also if I got to a checkpoint before one voice track finished two would play at once. Great job though, I enjoyed it.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:27am

    Can't figure out where minimalism =(
    Reminded me Bastion =) Good game in any case!

    sparkleswirl says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:08am

    I can't say I "get it", but I definitely really like what you guys tried to create here.

    robotality says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

    Love the gfx and the Bastion/Dear Esther style voice over :)miss the LD theme a bit here. ;)

    fullmontis says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:22am

    Very beautiful game and wonderful mood. Gameplay is a little too simple.

    May 1, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    Graphics 5/5 !
    A bit easy but really fun

    Beldarak says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:45pm

    It takes some time to be used to the controls (at first the fact that I didn't stuck again walls bothered me but then I understood it was of great help). Other than that it's brillant !

    Charming, beautiful, 5 stars all the way ;)

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:56am

    Great work! The art style is beautiful and the voice-over work is very nicely done and professional :D The controls are a bit off at first but that is to be expected with an isometric game. Thanks for keeping checkpoints nice and close to each other! :D

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:47am

    Super cool. Liked the theme. The narration is great! Controls were tough to get used to, and overall it was a little unforgiving, but this is a great entry. Nice work!

    Husky says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:25am

    I like the graphic style!
    It's really awesome!

    RobKat says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:00pm

    Beautiful and interesting but was very laggy, im running in firefox, is this an issue?

    _Rilem says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    Really nice graphics.
    I was surprised when I finished the game, it didn't feel like the end. The voice over is a really nice touch. It kept me interested throughout the game.
    Impressive accomplishment in only 72 hours :D

    GranaDa says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    Beautiful artwork! Bad, bad wolves! Good job!

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:14pm

    Awesome art!!! Congratz!!

    JohnnySix says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:41am

    Love the style and the atmosphere, very slick production. Controls were a little difficult with isometric, and I ran into the fire plenty. :D Loveed the animation on the dogs and the glowing eyes in the dark.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:00am

    What? This is CRAZY good. how the?

    kurrik says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:07am

    Took a while to get used to the controls but once I did I was navigating around pretty well. Wish I had some more power up or could feel like I had an easier time getting around the obstacles, but you've done an amazing level of polish on the game - fantastic work!

    nicso says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:46am

    awesome graphics, really sad that the gameplay didn't really serve it :(

    Waynetron says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 10:19am

    The graphics brought me in, the story, atmosphere and narration kept me.
    But terrible controls and boring gameplay let down what is otherwise a very well executed game.

    brookman32k says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:07pm

    Cool game... Was a bit affraid of the dogs ;) I always have a hard time with those controls (shifted 45°). The spoken dialog gives the whole thing a good atmosphere.

    GreyShock says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

    Really nice art, music and atmosphere!

    Broxxar says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Really stunning visuals, love the look and feel. The dialogue was also fantastic. Well done.

    May 3, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    This is fun! Narration adds a lot to this.

    ENDESGA says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:41am

    Absolutely fanstasmigorical!

    Ithildin says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:46am

    Lovely graphics, for a very fun entry. The narrator was an interesting addition, but I his voice sounded too low (even despite having the PC volume quite high). Congratulations!

    SmilingCat says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    Nice polished graphics. Good job!

    Boiúna says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    Absolutely incredible. I just wish that the sounds were a little bit louder.

    GameNacho says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:29am

    Epic game! I like the art style and limited view mechanic, great job!

    joe40001 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:33am

    I wonder if you guys were inspired by some other game? :P

    Still, it was a very fun well made game.

    euwaku says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 3:41am

    Very impressive... 5 stars for graphics and audio! Too bad the isometric 4d movement is kind of hard to control.

    shiprib says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 9:08am

    Wow, that's amazing for 72 hours, top notch.

    If I had to nitpick, I found the controls a bit frustrating as you're offsetting them by 45 degrees. I never got used to cursor keys used in isometric games! Oh and sometimes if I got through a section really quickly the narration would overlap.

    But yeah, everything I didn't mention is awesome. :)

    MathiO says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 1:35pm

    Great narration, dripping mood, and subtle humour! A true rarity.

    May 7, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    Extremely good visuals for a game jam and that creates a solid atmosphere for the game. I'd say you did a swell job in that. :D

    May 7, 2013 @ 6:53pm

    Amazing game. However, i don't think it fits the theme )
    Also i was really close to abandon game because of controls scheme.

    Catman says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 6:36am

    Nice graphics and mood! I thought the controls were a bit confusing.

    dector says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:38am

    Great jam entry? Think about porting to mobile platforms!

    bobiniki says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 3:36pm

    Excelent graphics mood and atmosphere, but the controlls were a bit strange. Not that they are isometric, but when I colide with a wall I start going in a random direction. Also the dogs could be done with some ai not compleately random. Besides that this is one ove the favourite games so far!

    Jeremias says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 4:03pm

    The graphics and the sound effects are nice, especially the voice over fits very well (Bastion :D). The controls felt somehow strange, e.g. if the character changes the walking direction to another because the direction where you targeting is blocked.

    imagnity says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 5:28pm

    Super cool graphics! Magnificent..

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:10pm

    Avoiding the bright eyes of the shadowy dogs thrilled me. If you continue to develop this, the fiery paths discouraged me.

    PAMVllo says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 12:49am

    I don't understand anything but it was good game

    TheSheep says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 5:16pm

    No idea how to defend from the dogs.

    Gremlin says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 5:46pm

    The controls took a little getting used to with the keyboard, but otherwise a really polished little game. I like the narration.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 2:22pm

    Nice game and nice graphics. Lot of work on this piece...but you're not on the theme : there no potatoes!

    frogmaster says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    Fun. I like it!

    Alprog says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 11:26am

    Very simple gameplay: just go to the finish and do not fall into the trap. But atmosphere is great. Darkly. Lonely. Beautiful.

    Fadobo says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 11:47am

    Great atmosphere. My brain doesn't really like isometric arrow controls, but I still managed to finish it.

    May 19, 2013 @ 1:05pm

    Very nice looking game, audio was top, too... I would just have expected the unlit areas to be darker, it's a bit confusing like that. And what exactly does picking up a bottle of whiskey do, didn't notice it...

    0beah says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 9:01pm

    Love the atmosphere.

    Purplescape says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    I really love this entry. Beautiful graphics and visual effects. They work with the game mechanics perfectly. The story readings added a lot to the mood. Great game full of moonshine!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]