April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Obstacle Course

by CappaGames - Jam Entry

Go through the obstacle course without touching anything.

WASD: to move.
MOUSE: to rotate the rectangle.

My main game was too much to do, so I made this game in a couple hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#204Theme(Jam)3.47
#333Innovation(Jam)2.78
#361Fun(Jam)2.68
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#496Mood(Jam)2.05
#536Graphics(Jam)1.97

Comments

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Game is under judgement on newsgrounds... :(
I'll try to get back later.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I love frustrating skill games like this! I didn't complete it, but I had fun trying!

jayemjee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Interesting idea, but could be frustrating. Checkpoints would have been nice.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55am

Frustating, but good idea.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

the controls are quite hairy, but i liked it none the less

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

aaaargh -- frustrating -- must -- play -- again -- cant -- stop -- great job man -- loved it!

docix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10am

Overall, neat game. I would totally incorporate points or something as you go throughout the game. Something like "Try to beat your last score!", or some other reason to give it another whirl. I think the game is great, just need a reason to play it over and over again. I was stoked when I cleared the first windmill thing, but once I got into it, I got pretty far, then all of a sudden bumped a wall and was back at the start. Which is fine. I just need something to show for the effort I just made, and a reason to do better next time. But overall, awesome work!

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13am

FRUSTRATING! I HAD TO GIVE UP! Good job though :)

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I dont know if was me but it seems i died without no reason without touch anything, maybe is failing the collision detection? , very frustrating game in a good way, also if you add music the game is going to have more mood

Broxxar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Neat idea for a control schema. Could use check points and maybe some better level design. One of the biggest challenges is right at the beginning before you've even become accustomed to the controls.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:59pm

This game is frustrating but I like it... I quit when I touched a wall, somewhat very far from the start from my 10th try... I would suggest a checkpoint :D

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Had too much trouble playing it on an azerty keyboard, but it was cool enough. Reminds me about Kuru Kuru Kururin on GBA which was amazing

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Funny game! Great job :D

Tom 7 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:45pm

This was good for a quick jam. I found the controls unintuitive because moving would only sometimes scroll and sometimes rotate, because my position relative to the mouse changed. Once I got past that, it was navigable, though rotation was usually my enemy! I got past the second set of rotating Xs and then died in that tiny corridor. No checkpoints?

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:37am

I beat it! It took a bit to get used to the controls, but after I got the hang of it I managed to inch my way through the game. Very fun and very intense.
http://screencloud.net/v/hWUA

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]