April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keep up the rhythm

by jami - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey there!

Here is Keep up the rhythm. Just click on the shape rhythmically.

Enjoy!

Edit: I forgot some hint
- Levels last for 2:40
- Miss clicks (not over shapes) don't reset combos
- Two levels of difficulty
- Android version coming soon (Have some loop issue)

Update: Android version available! Yeah! Just copy the apk file on your device, allow installation on non-Market apps (Security), and install using the file manager of your choice (: Please, only rate the web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#65Audio3.70
#190Fun3.45
#519Humor2.26
#546Overall3.18
#579Mood2.85
#816Theme3.27
#865Graphics2.64
#978Innovation2.52

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Okay, this game is a *lot* of fun! Great job!

demicercle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Cool! At least a rythmn game without any scroll!

CharlesBoury says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

I like the music !
But I'm disapointed that miss clicks don't reset combo. And that you can miss a beat without being reseted too. It would provoke you to be steady.
Otherwise, your game is neat !

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Played it on Android. Interesting concept. Some of the best audio for a 48 hour game. I don't understand why there are different colours and shapes.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Very cool. I could see this being used to help older people with their spatial skills.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Heyyy, fun! I definitely think missing a beat should reset the combo. I really got caught up in this, nice job! I think Android would be really fun, but I've not got the time to test it.

kazukishida says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Very simple -- cathartic even -- and fun. Very fun. :D The beat is simple, yet addicting. I played waaay longer than I expected haha XD

More UI (but not too much) would be a plus, such as displaying the time remaining. :)

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

wow, game so simple... and yet so fun! Good job

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58am

very interesting idea! cute

sharbelfs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00pm

nice job, really good game

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I like the concept, with a little more interesting mechanics (mechanics that add some variation to the gameplaye or interactive music) it could turn out to be very awesome android game :)

radmars says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:31am

Always love to see rhythm games attempted in LD! 85195 points in hard mode :D

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Love the music! Very cool idea for a game. I dont know if it was intentional but sometimes the shapes would spawn barely on the screen making it very hard to tap them. Also sometimes there would be long periods of no shapes appearing.

jami says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Hello All! Thank you for your kind words, I wanted to keep the game simple (minimalistic)that's why there are few mechanics. In android version, there are three loops, and shapes appear more often as you go in loops. @Blinked I'll check my code to see any problem ;)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Great music and colors! The organically dilating and throbbing shapes bring the screen to life.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Very nice and fun game, congratulations! Please, play and rate my game when you have the time, thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]