April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniMai

by Saturnyn - Jam Entry

Use your trusty staff and crush your enemies !

I went for a lazy interpretation of the theme, settling for "minimalist" graphics/sound, and made an action/platformer that features 6 levels, 1 boss, and an "end game".

Enjoy !


Edit1: reuploaded a version with fixed typo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#165Fun(Jam)3.18
#191Humor(Jam)2.48
#247Theme(Jam)3.33
#295Overall(Jam)3.06
#313Mood(Jam)2.79
#354Innovation(Jam)2.71
#354Graphics(Jam)2.90
#361Audio(Jam)2.47

Comments

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

Very cool game, really nice implementation of gameplay mechanics.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

I like the style of this. The moves/animations are minimal, yet convincing. Kinda hard though :)

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Using the staff is fun, especially the staff bounce.
I wish the boss telegraphed his moves a bit more. I have to get in really close to hit him, but he'll move without warning, often right into me. I died a good thirty times that way!
Endless mode is pretty cool, too, though I haven't gotten very far.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Tricky but good fun, well done!

Tigrounette says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Fun ^^

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Really challenging yet fun. Really liked the music too.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very funny game, and sounds match perfectly! Loves all the things you can do with the staff! Perfect for the theme!

Alink says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Fun game but very hard. I tried a lot but the boss is a bit too unpredictable, sill a good boss fight too.

Yoni says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice mechanics. The music was a bit annoying but still a fun game

Patacorow says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I HATE THE BOSS! Good game!!

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Cool game... Nice game mechanics but sometimes it was to hard for me ;) level, player and enemies are very basic (minimalistic), but the concept works fine like this.

echa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:21pm

nice staff mechanics!

namuol says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:41am

Neat mechanics (especially the staff-jump), although I found the challenge to be less about clever use of the mechanics so much as reflexes/muscle memory. This isn't really a bad thing, but I wonder if you could have explored the mechanics a little more if there was more time.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice game ! but it is too hard!

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:57am

Finally! A game with instructions! Overall good, the music was a little repetitive but I loved the sound effects!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]