April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Creation

by netgrind - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made using Flex and the TweenLite library, graphics 100% done through code. A very short series of very simple, pretty puzzles I had sketched in my notepad. The puzzles themselves aren't so difficult it's mostly just figuring out how to control them. If you really want ***HINTS*** then go here http://pastebin.com/L7pGxa5s

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#51Innovation4.01
#135Theme4.04
#160Graphics3.76
#309Mood3.19
#369Overall3.36
#625Fun2.91
#973Humor1.66
#1030Audio1.54

Comments

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

Wow. I love the subdued visual style and presentation. For me, games with no explanation/direction can go one of two ways. I quit almost immediately or there is something there that intrigues me and I bite. I loved the feedback, I think it is the reason I was excited to discover the game. I bit :)

cjacobwade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

After the first puzzle I got stuck at the gray blob.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

I have to say, enjoyable and intriguing! Just couldn't get past #3....

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

It was nice and concise. The visuals are great and the game was pretty solid. There were times where i felt like I wasn't getting enough feedback but I eventually got it. It needs some ambient music in the back.

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

The puzzles are pretty hard but damn is this pretty,

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Lovely idea!

..and exceptionally difficult.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48am

Great puzzle game! Visuals are nice too

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

captivating... puzzles are intuitive to figure out! I really like how reactive everything is.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

absolutely amazing!
great art. and has a nice feel to it :)

Great job!
-ENDESGA

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

AMAZING!

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

I feel really dumb for needing the hints so quickly! :(

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

Hey Netgrid!
My link should be fixed now :)

-ENDESGA

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

Great execution, esp. since the graphics are all code-based. Well done!

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

Probably the best interpretation of the theme I've seen so far - awesome presentation too.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Could really use some music!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

Very nice game, took a while to get the hang of it, but enjoyable!

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Clever. I incredibly enjoyed finishing all of the puzzles--you see, I have a great intellect, and I didn't stumble through the 2nd one and get stuck on the 3rd.

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

Thrilling game! Great puzzles!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

This was very very cool. I do know what game this was inspired by, but still you put a unique style into it and made it different. really cool how you learn how to do stuff with just mouse position and how it can be used in so many ways. lol the last scene i was just like "eww eww eww" lol but it was a cool 3d effect. this was a really cool project :)

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

I couldn't get past the second level - yet very well done. there should be more games like this

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Visually very cool but why no sounds? :(
Very contemplative, great atmosphere but the gameplay is sometimes disturbing, don't know what to do.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

I like puzzles games like this. The third stage reminds me of the Bond intro sequence. It had a "down the rifle barrel" feel. The first two felt biological. Awesome game!

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Nice style and approach, tho I stuck at the second puzzle.

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Well done. Fun and artish!

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

Cleared. Neat puzzle with good difficulty. done 100% through code? awesome.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

Neat presentation and mood, but the cells puzzle is not responsive enough. Took me several minutes before I could divide them properly.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Such a nice idea!
And it's good that I don't have to wait 9 months to finish this game XD

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

The Windows download does not work for me.

gamesaucer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

The game feels pretty great, because the controls are pretty smooth. The game scores especially high on innovation, because there are a few things that I wouldn't have thought of for sure.

However, as much fun as discovering the controls at first can be, the game gets boring pretty quickly. This might have to do with the lack of sound.

The simple graphics fit the theme quite well, and so do the intuition-driven controls. The graphics might be simple, but they are well-made, so the game scores high here, too.

There wasn't much humor to this game, except in level 2, where duplicating the cells struck me as quite funny.

Overall, the game feels pretty good and fits well together.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Lovely! You're right that the difficult part is figuring out the controls, I got stuck for a bit on the metaballs puzzle.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

I really like the lack of explanation, it somehow creates a really ...intimate(?) experience with the puzzles. Super cool.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

Artsy and mysterious. I finally figured out how to do with the black spots, but I have to say, the lack of responsiveness makes it a bit frustrating, so I stopped at that point. I wonder if there's anything further..

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

The second puzzle needs some sort of indicator as to how close the player is to completing it. Other then that, interesting stuff.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

Really unique and very enjoyable

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27am

Great! I Love this kind of puzzles.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35am

Good job.

+1 indicators

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Nice concept. A slight visual cue on the cells that could divide would have helped if it could be done without making things too obvious.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

The cell part feels kinda unresponsive but very intruging otherwise.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Really elegant puzzle game!
I really enjoyed figuring out the controls, and the visuals were very nice. I was able to complete them all in a few minutes. I feel that the only thing the game lacked was a little sound.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Also, thanks for the nice comment on my entry! :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

The game did not disappoint my expectations! :)
A really nice work! :-)

h2n0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Best game i have played so far :D

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Wow, nice! Nearly gave up more times than I care to admit, but this it my favourite yet.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Really amazing work. So much intelligence and thoughtfulness and relazing mind candy to be had. Takes patience. Good job!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I got stuck at the gray blob too :(

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Wow, pretty hard game but fantastically well done!

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

After the first puzzle I got stuck in a white screen with a grey pixelated blob in the middle :/

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Bravo. This feels like a set of interactive art pieces.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The visuals are superb, amazing puzzles and the simplistic controls make it fit the theme wonderfully. Awesome job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:37am

You nailed it. This is a person who has a clear understanding of subtlety and design. I hope everyone plays this!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

Wow. This is incredible. A very rewarding experience, especially after you see how many other people couldn't solve the puzzles, haha. (I got the trick to the third one almost the second it opened up!)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18am

Really enjoyed this game a lot. The blobs level took me the longest to suss out I think. I like the concept of a visual mouse movement based puzzle game, nice work!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

I like the idea and the concepts but... either i'm stupid enough not to get what i am supposed to do or... the game doesn't provide enough feedback. I'm going with the first option XD

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

This was excellent. Thank you. Great game. I want so much more of it. Go find a great audio/music person, and this would be elevated even further.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

I love this game, you have to figure out each puzzle without any instructions. The theme was amazing and kept me interested.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23am

I really enjoyed this game, the way the puzzles moved were so elegant. Great job.

wzl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Love it! the second one was a tad arbitrary. Loved the tunnel though! Very nice :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Oooh noooooo, too short! ^^ I think you should add some sound/music, but nice anyway!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:52am

Your use of theme was spot on. Elegant mechanics. Good Job!

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:20am

Interesting. I want more than 3 levels :) I like that every level has its own logic. Good job !!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:58pm

It's hard but very original !

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

One word - brilliant!!!

Boiúna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:29am

The visual is amazing. Good use of the theme and very innovative gameplay.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:37pm

That was pretty good! Even if I have no idea what I did!

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:23pm

How could I've overlooked the story of this game, the first time I played it. Slowpoke much.
Once again; Magic!

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:43am

A bit hard to get it, but I really loved the visual effects!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Nice style. Very minimal.

MathiO says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Interesting little experience. Very different, which is good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]