April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ragdoll Fly

by FaBrito - Jam Entry

Ragdoll Fly was developed only with primitive forms and the gameplay is single key/click for the entire game (Space or left mouse click).

As requested in the comments below, if you don't wanna wait for respawn, hit 'R'!

Developed in Unity,
Textures generated in Corel,
Music created with inudge.net (captured with i-sound), and
Sound effects from freesound.org, both edited with Wave-Editor.

Artist: Angelo Possamai
Created by: Fabricio Brito

Tip: If you get stuck on some level, use "L" to load next level and make sure you visit all 9 of them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#61Humor(Jam)3.26
#134Fun(Jam)3.29
#180Innovation(Jam)3.26
#338Mood(Jam)2.73
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#385Audio(Jam)2.30
#410Graphics(Jam)2.71
#510Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Funny one! I like the game mechanic but when you die, it takes too long to start again.

bleating says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

I agree with siondream. A restart level hotkey would be ideal. Sounds could also have been a little bit better, but overall really fun! I'd love to see this developed further.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Good job. It was a little slow, but it was also fun. Good job.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

@siondream and @bleating
I was kinda worried with the 3D sound when he dies, and sacrificed a little bit the respawn time.
New version published with 'R' key to restart! Thanks for your insight!

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

Fun, humorous.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15am

An actual fun game. Trying to time the release just right to hit the platform was actually engaging. Well done.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Hi, no more lag on the flashlight :) now let me play your submission :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35am

Kinda hard to aim yourself! I wish the fast restart was automatic.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

Hahahah kinda nice and funny. You managed to pull out a nice game with only a few resources from unity. Nicely done. :D

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Really funny! Liked it :)

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Ran into a bug (can't remember which level), where it would restart me but with 2 or 3 ragdolls.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Very interesting idea, congrats!

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Very fun and funny game. The Goofy scream is awesome, lol. Congratz!

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Thanks @bobiniki... I might have screw things up when added at the last minute the 'R' button for respawn... thanks anyway!

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

Hahaha very funny your game! Congrats! BR BR BR ;D Please, play and rate my game. When you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you. o/

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Maybe a shadow would help to see if the ragdoll will land over the checkered platform or if we miss the point. Otherwise the idea is pretty good.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:45am

I'm generally not keen on ragdoll games. There's something horribly compulsive about this one though.

Cyborg771 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Way more fun that it has any right to be, something about ragdoll physics man.

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:38pm

PRetty nice physics game. The character sounds made it pretty funny to mess around with the character. Although the game got a little slow in some places I thought it was pretty fun to play. Nice job!

FaBrito says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:52am

@GranaDa, nice input for gameplay. We've considered to uso rotating lights when the level was 3D to emphasize the next sphere by light, but we abandoned the idea since the levels were pretty forward with the stereoscopic view.
Maybe some feedback on how far from the best axis the ragdoll is hanging on?
Thanks anyway!

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Got bugged and kept spawning two guys, who pushed each other in opposite directions before being able to touch the ball.

May 9, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Got the same bug as well, but just reloaded and skipped to the level again, haha. Awesome thingy.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Fun game, love the concept and the art, great job! :D

jpcote says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:01am

Good entry, original, good use of the deal (trial version).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]