April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Trigger Darkly

by azurenimbus - Jam Entry

*The game is played via audio, so make sure your volume is up.*

Since all my games are minimalist, I challenged myself to go really overboard and add as little as possible. The result is this game!

There are no graphics, only text. To play you just need to click at the right time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Theme(Jam)4.29
#72Audio(Jam)3.67
#97Innovation(Jam)3.52
#130Mood(Jam)3.42
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#281Fun(Jam)2.86
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

Very clever take on the theme. Sound is great and the concept is compelling. If I had 2 requests they would be: shorten the intro and allow for one practice shot on each new type before they kill you. Great job!

Jacic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31am

Very nice, but I do agree that a practice shot would be helpful! Great take on the theme too!

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Hu, no graphics? Interesting concept. I'm too slow in reacting. Very minimal game.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

Very innovative idea, I am really digging it!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

Wow, Super-Minimalism; mono-sensual. Impressive!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

The sounds you picked were really effective at building suspense. Once the patterns starting layering, the game got very interesting. Nice entry!

Simon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34am

Great experience. I got afraid at times :) Impressive, immersive, good job!

May 5, 2013 @ 12:49pm

<3 !

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice idea, couldn't get timing right - probably just my crappy reactions.

Xanjos says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:01pm

If it wasn't for the Rating Rescue Rangers, I probably wouldn't have found this gem. It's a really nice take on the theme and I absolutely loved the use of sound as part of the gameplay.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Ah, Azure, you master of minimalism, you. I really don't know how you do it sometimes.

It really started creeping me out a bit when I started counting to aid my reaction time... The time from an enemy's first sound to its attack, the amount of steps it took... crazy stuff.

DaveDobson says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:02am

Really interesting concept. It would be cooler with more of a stereo effect, if that's possible. Very neat implementation for this theme.

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:10am

Interesting take, good job! :)

GranaDa says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Very Nice entry! The whole sound pattern thing is a very nice element to be explored, it would be great to play a full fledged game with this approach :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Right on! It was much better than I expected.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:35pm

An interesting way to work his reflexes. Mosquitoes will have to be careful.

May 19, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Great idea, but I would have loved to hear some really scary sounds here... At the moment, it sounds like some toy robot is attacking you! :) Still a very nice game, but also quite hard!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]