April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Life

by unclechristmas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A short platformer with a loose minimalism theme. Unfortunately I ran out of time to add more levels so I decided the polish up the one, but it's kinda fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#533Theme3.56
#619Overall3.11
#623Graphics2.94
#797Fun2.72
#913Audio2.06
#972Mood2.44
#1204Innovation2.11
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Needs checkpoints. Dying at the very end is annoying.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Fits the theme pretty well. I like it :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

It all works well enough and is on theme, but some 8 bit music would have helped your cause greatly.

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

The vignette gives this a nice look. The gameplay is a pretty standard platformer afair. Audio could be a bit more elaborate, but alas, the theme is minimalism.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

This game is pretty fun. I liked how you could pick up coins to gain more abilities. I would have liked it better if abilities, such as the jump attack, carried over when picking up another coin. Overall, though, I thought it was enjoyable.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Can't get it to work on my mac. Screen eventually goes blank before game begins. =(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

@Filth and Money: I think there is a bug with Java 7, Mac and LWJGL, I am working on providing a separate fixed Mac version soon.

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Good gameplay-feeling!

May 3, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I uploaded a (hopefully) fixed version for Mac & Linux.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]