April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Friendship in a Post-Apocalyptic World

by marnaouf - Jam Entry

So here's my game. It is my take on the minimalism theme. Both the art and the gameplay and control scheme are "minimalist". The game is a very basic management style game where in you must manage digging a tunnel between two houses while defending yourself from zombies. You must dig completely dig out the tunnel in order to win

The game uses the mouse for controls and thus a mouse is recommended to play.
To change the action of each dude you have to click in one quarter of the screen. The Upper left corner makes the red dude defend/shoot, the bottom left corner makes him dig. The same goes for the blue dude except with the upper and bottom right corners.

The game itself is made in Flash and was made with Flashpunk and Paint.net for the graphics. My friend made the music, I'm not sure what tool he used though.

I was bored so I put the games on Newgrounds and Kongregate. Both are linked above and are exactly the same thing as the dropbox link.

Also, I would really appreciate any comment about the game negative or positive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Innovation(Jam)3.64
#89Fun(Jam)3.48
#148Theme(Jam)3.64
#159Humor(Jam)2.65
#179Overall(Jam)3.36
#228Mood(Jam)3.09
#319Audio(Jam)2.73
#382Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

FlashRocks says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

I really like it. Simple, yet fun. I didn't quite get the digging purpose, but, ya know, you play games to play 'em, not to win (it's fun all the same!) Ludum-Dare on! :D

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

Good execution. I panicked hahaha

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:02am

I barely didn't make it, the blue dude's house was at 4 when I did manage to get them together.

Tyro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Pretty cool idea, and the audiovisual style was all consistent and clean. Keep up the good work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

This was OK. The music got to me after a while. I like the premise though.

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Hi, I liked the idea but I think it is a little too slow paced. I think should make shooting much faster (or activated by user) while putting more zombies to keep the difficulty level.
Anyway, nice work !

Zener says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30am

Minimalistic coordination game, love it! Music is pretty cool too

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36am

Fun gameplay. I liked the simple gfx and controls.

peacefulshade says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

This is what the jam is about, a simple compelling experience that can be made in a small amount of time. Congratulations!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Unique concept, Good job! I liked how sometimes the friends' shots helped the other.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Nice game, I liked the story and the gameplay. It'd be fun to play it with another friend, shouting things like:"C'mon keep diggin!","No way, I got all the zombies, your turn to dig!".

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

This is my absolute favorite i've played so far. Everything about it was perfect for the theme. You did what so many (including myself) struggle with and that's make a complete game on a solid concept that's still fun in such a short amount of time. A perfect jam game. Lovely work.

marnaouf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:02am

Thanks everyone for all the awesome feedback on the game.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:22am

Good work. A bit confusing at first but I eventually got what I was supposed to do.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:32am

Nice game , I like the mechanic but it could be improved. Keep up the good work.

kyyninen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I liked that music reacted to what was happening in the game. Some more variation would've been nice, like hitting the other dude with bullets damaging him. Keep them plates spinning!

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Great take on the theme, simple but neat mechanic and fun to play.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

That was really fun. I felt addicted, so after the end i thought: "i want more" :)
Sound was a little bit annoying sometimes.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Pretty hard, wow. :)

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:07am

I Win !!! Really fun GAME … Moreeee :D

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Hehe, pretty tough. Very cute game, efficient and nicely implemented!

TurboDindon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:10pm

That's the cutest game I've played. The story of those two friends moved me, so I managed to get them together. Very good :)

nuprahtor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:29am

Just great.

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:31am

Nice game. I really like the concept. It was a bit hard at first, but lots of fun. The music gets a bit repetitive after a wile though...

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice start ! We want more adventure about this story of 2 friends :) Cute and moving !

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I used the recommended mouse :)
Nice bleepy music. I thought the story was funny.
I generally like the management games where you can't control everything so I liked this.

It could use some tweaking.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:32pm

wow what a really cool game! nice use of theme.

thatwhichis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I absolutely enjoyed getting these two friends back together!

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:16pm

The music was pretty good. The graphics were nice and the overall gameplay is definitely thought provoking. I thought it was maybe a little bit too simple and if it had a few extra gameplay mechanics it would be even better. Also the game didn't seem to get more difficult while you were playing, usually games start out easy and then get harder. Good work though.

Detocroix says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:22pm

That was really cool. The music and the concept was excellent! Feedback was a bit lacking because there wasn't zombie / gun sounds. Most of the damage I received was because I forgot to fight back the zombies :)

May 8, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Cool fun game, nice gameplay, actually.. well... fun ! :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I really liked the idea!
The game seems to be quite balanced as well.

The music though kinda annoyed me...

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Phew, took me quite a few turns to win for something so straightforward :)

Really enjoyed that, one of the best games I've played of the compo so far!

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The greatest thing about this game is music of course besides that game is also good.

MinionStudios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Awesome and challenging

xploitgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Your sun in the picture looks like Kirby! (Which is awesome!). Cool aspect ratio and good simple gameplay. Good job!

Puccini says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:07am

Pretty cool! but i can't win :( fuck zombies
Good aplication of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]