April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chameleon

by Helco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Description:
A little chameleon wakes up in a swamp, without memory about how he's got there.
Help him to his lovely lawn, kill monsters and eat flies.
There is a secret potato, a secret yoda and a surprise, I hope you can find them (should not be that difficult).
This was a game for Ludum Dare #26 with the Theme "Minimalistic".
Good luck
Helco

Controls:
Arrows Move
Spacebar Throw tongue
Enter Close message/Start game
Escape Escape at any time (from the game)

For troubleshooting read the readme.txt (why does I have to say this?)

BTW: Did you find the hidden potato (not really hidden...)
And what's about Yoda? Did you find him?
Also the pessimistic surprise to find you have!

Edit: Okay OpenAL runtime in the archive and the openGL extension "GL_EXT_framebuffer_object" (as well as any other openGL extensions) are no longer necessary to run this game.

A linux port is uploaded!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#338Humor2.58
#475Audio2.83
#668Mood2.76
#711Fun2.81
#726Graphics2.81
#825Overall2.92
#932Innovation2.61
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Crashes on my Windows 7 64-bit

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

did you read the readme and install oalinst.exe?

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Crash... win 7 64 bit

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

It crashed even after I installed OAL. saddestoffaces.

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Love the music!
Couldn't get past the poop demon, quite hard game in general.

(Btw you should be able just dynamically link to OpenAL and distribute the DLL's along with the exe, so people wouldn't have to install it, think some (very) old versions even permitted static linking, not a biggie tho)

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Because of the OpenAL problems I copied the OpenAL runtime into the normal windows archive.
I hope it works now

@Puffi
Just try to run around it, this works pretty well :)
If you really can't get past around any enemy just try to avoid it, there is just one enemy in the game (the last) you actually have to kill (but it's more fun if you kill them all :) )

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Nice game. Very simple and fun. Graphics could be slightly improved though.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Ahh dosn't work for me :(

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

what happens?

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I get an error when trying to run:
CFramework::InitFramebuffer: Missing OpenGL Extension "GL_EXT_framebuffer_object"!

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Okay, I am sorry, I thought there wouldn't be anybody who doesn't have this extension, but maybe I can go without it, so I will go and try to upload another version without using it.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Worked fine for me on win7 x64; I must have the proper libraries installed.

I really like the noisy pixel level style, and overall the graphics and audio are very effective. Eating flies is hard, though! Maybe you should increase the hitbox size a little and/or make them land for a moment? Well done in any case!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Hmmm, can't download the game for some reason :-(

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

@caranha
that's right I'm uploading a new version right now, but I have a pretty bad uplink... Just wait a few minutes the download should be ready soon

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

UPDATE:
Okay sorry for the long pause, the download link for windows is again up with an update which doesn't use any openGL extensions anymore.

And the port for Linux is created and is currently uploaded.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I like the chameleon! But why has it no camouflage power, maybe for a short time to sneak past hard enemies?

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

@Loxo
That's a great idea! If I make a post mortem version this feature will be in, promise :)

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I just got a white screen on Windows 8 64-bit. I heard the music though. Did not leave rating.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

It displays white/black screen instead of the title screen and chameleon randomly rotates and doesn't shoot it's tongue(Win8/x64). Sad .( I really liked the music though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Pros:
Very nice music! I really liked it. Sounds were good too.
Very simple graphics, but they worked really well and looked nice.
I love the animation of him walking! I actually enjoyed him rotating around instead of just being a sprite with a fixed pivot point.

Cons:
I didn't like only being able to walk up/down/left/right, but I got used to it.
Potion at the beginning is odd... you're already at full health?
In the first cave level, it's unclear on where you go to advance to the next level, since the colors used seem to be the same as the wall. I figured it out, but it was confusing.
The flies are really hard/annoying to eat, and I just ended up ignoring them.

Overall: Nice job!

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Haha, I'm having a hard time catching these damn flies! Good job, enjoyed it!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Can't see the graphics on my 64 bit Windows 7. Only a white screen. I heard the music.

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

The flies does not give much experience, so you don't need to catch them all, I just ignored them mostly myself in further levels. But they are just annoying as real ones, aren't they :)

@TheSambassador:
Actually you just have a half "heart" on the beginning, I ended up forgetting to write something like "My head hurts, I must have been hit, hey this potion could help" on the map, but this is noted for a post-mortem version (would be a "new feature" so I'll not add it in this version for the sake of fairness) as well as better marks for the exit.
The movement is a bit weird but I kept it like this to prevent the player to fight diagonally, this would have made the fights too easy...

@ For all who just get a white/black screen:
If you press enter does it show something different (or do you at least hear you something different) ?
Unfortunately I can not reproduce this bug, so I guess that this is a problem with the graphic card (to be precise incompability with non-power-of-two-textures) and not with the operating system, at least I hope this is it.
If my assumption is right, you should be able to get into the gameplay without seeing the menu (but of course I'll fix this)

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

A nice game, fits the theme well. Good audio!

Works on my Win7-64.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:43am

Like the idea!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I don't think, I ever lose life? Otherwise evrything works, althorugh, I think it is a little bit boring :/

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! :)

MegaBrutal says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:36pm

I liked the theme & music. Although the game is too hard. It is incredibly hard to catch flies and shoot enemies. For now, the best tactic against enemies is to simply run past them. :P Otherwise, I really like the feel of this game - maybe if you could solve the previously listed issues, it would be quite fun. :)

Bonus points for Linux port! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]