April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kriok

by someone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple puzzle game. Get the shapes to the target positions.
Drag a block with the mouse in the direction you want to move it.

The game has a minimal palette, and the aim is to complete the levels with minimal moves.

I intend to make an Android build shortly.

Some of my target scores may not be optimal, I didn't spend loads of time on some of the levels. Let me know if you beat them.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#95Overall3.79
#182Fun3.47
#302Audio3.12
#381Graphics3.29
#409Mood3.08
#428Theme3.66
#430Innovation3.28
#748Humor1.97

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

Fun, but the difficulty curve ramped up very quickly. By the third level I was getting very frustrated.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice, complex riddles. Also, very clear game design. Love it.

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Very challenging, nice graphics. Weird sounds, but I think it matches. Loved playing it! At least until level 6...

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Great gameplay. Hard as heck, but great.

Tipyx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:20pm

So hard, but I like it :).

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:36pm

I can't beat the level 3... But I'm sure it's possible, and that's what I love :) Very clear level design, very gameplay idea, minimalistic in a good sense. Really enjoyed it ;)

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Good game, really hard though.

JimmyLord says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Cool puzzle game, I gave up on level 6, I started playing with multiple pieces moving at the same time, which was probably a bad idea. I'd say it's a bug, but it might be intentional.

HelkeGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice game, well done!

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice idea, great execution. The audio is really cool. I like it a lot :)

Merkoth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Simple yet fun. A little difficult at times.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:59pm

have favorited it... must play later... to tired ... but i love this kind of riddle game

chrismcr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very nice indeed!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:42am

Good work! I like puzzles like that. Thanks, man!

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Cool puzzles (even though a bit difficult, but that's a good thing =)), and very appropriate visual style.

glisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:50pm

definitely one of the best puzzle games i've seen this time

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very cool puzzle. Early on I thought moving multiple pieces at the same time was a bug, but then it became a necessity. Was not expecting that!

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Really good training for my weak brain! I'll save it and play again several times.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Very clever level design, but gets very difficult, very fast. Nicely polished. Keep up the good work!

TaleLore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:53pm

High difficulty but fun.

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Good game but very frustrating (in a good way)

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Seemed very good at first, but I can't find the solution to level 3.

plash says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:50am

Notes:

- Music is haunting, a bit.
- Like the idea so far.
- Level 2. 11/11.
- The level completion sound is a bit strange.
- Level 3. 18/16.
- Level 4. This is hard.
- Music is getting annoying, now.
- 23/15. Could have done that better, I think..
- Level 5. Shapes!
- Level start effect doesn't seem to fit. I imagined a much different audio palette based on the visuals.
- 25/18.
- Level 6. Oh my.
- Possible gamebreak: move two blocks towards eachother in the same instance.
- Got all but the square situated with 91/36. Is there a completely normal way to do this?
- I don't think so. I can only get two of them placed. I give up.

Things I would change:

- Add keyboard controls. WASD/arrow keys to move, spacebar to switch between blocks.

khahem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:00am

Very good, I'd really like to see an Android version :)

sparkleswirl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48am

Love the level design!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:48am

Stuck at 3... I'm not good at this kind of games :P

bitbof says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Sliding boxes are always good for puzzlers :)
Beat level 5, but only with way too many steps.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice puzzle game. Trying to get through a lot of games here so don't have time to properly rack my brains over this but It was certainly nice and hard but not too hard.

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Pretty cool puzzle game, not really a fan of the music but the puzzles and design were nice.

Colapsydo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:57am

Simple and efficient mechanic.
By your game presentation, I understand that you designed levels by hand, is that right ?

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice. Fun and challenging puzzler. I like the music and art style.

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:56pm

It's a little bit over complicated. I think this would be hard enough even without symbols inside those tokens :) Anyway great game.

ramoncb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:40pm

quite hard, but is fun!

Zccc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Excellent puzzle game!! It's an awesome idea :)

May 5, 2013 @ 2:16am

Extremely good puzzle game, very challenging, and I like the hypnotizing music.

2/2, 11/11, 16/16, 15/15, 16/18, 30/36, 31/31, 10/10, 8/9, 12/12, 30/29, 25/21, 18/17, 16/16, 10/10.

I'm freeee! It's 4:12 AM here, so about time too. For at least three levels a lower number of moves is possible (see above).

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Only made it to level 4, but VERY solid nonetheless.

finefin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:19pm

uhh, I guess I suck at this. stuck at lvl 4. nonetheless a nice looking puzzle game that perfectly fits the theme.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:28am

Very well-made puzzle game. Lots of the puzzles made my head hurt, but that's to be expected from this genre. Liked the creative solutions a lot!

rykounanba says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Good game. It was fun, it had good puzzles.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:27am

Level 6 was just kind of frustrating, with the blocks not lining up exactly right, so I gave up.

May 8, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Great execution. Too hard for me, gave up on level 5

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:47am

This reminds me a lot of the block on ice puzzles in games like A Link to the Past. Level 3 and 4 had me stumped for awhile, but I finally got it. I gave up on level 5.

May 10, 2013 @ 6:49am

Level 6 really ruined the game for me, unfortunately. I was really into it up until that point. The design honestly just feels like you got sloppy and that the game is bugged.

The remarkable thing here is that I wouldn't have this strong a reaction if the game weren't actually really fun and cool otherwise. The music is perfect, and the pacing and puzzling is great. Just not Level 6.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:49am

Very good puzzle game. And the soundtrack is awesome!

DaveDobson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:05am

Really interesting and fun puzzle, with cool music, nice graphics, and simple gameplay, reminiscent of Sokoban. It got very hard, but it was fun. Nice work.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:15am

Very difficult but nice puzzle design. Some of the puzzles seemed to be unsolvable at first, so much the better it was to solve them.

Sebastian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:44am

Well I was going strong until level 6 XD
Slick design and gameplay, good work.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Level 6 is broken. Exits aren`t aligned, so I ended up with all shapes paritally on exits. The level wasn`t completed. http://puu.sh/2Re9Z.png
The atmosphere is nice, and the game is very detailed.

mollymus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Love these games!:) Didn't bother with level 6 though as it seemed more like a timing thing than an actual puzzle!:)

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:18pm

This gets difficult very fast :D
Very neat. Should be integrated into the next Prof Layton's game ^^

someone says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The slight offset in level 6 was intentional. It is possible to complete without messing about with timing moves.
Hint: The shapes are round and the line on the side is two and a half tiles down...

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:15am

Stuck at level 5. Good game, works well, but too hard too fast IMO. Also lacks a "mute" button or a longer music loop as it becomes annoying.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Sliding the circles to arrive at the destinations interested me. If you continue to develop this, I started to lose hope in level 4.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Puzzles were pretty hard but the overall concept is good.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Really complex but good puzzle game.

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:18am

Really clever and quite tricky at points. Like the sound effects.

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:16am

Love the music and the style. Very relaxing yet quite difficult! It bothered me at first why I wasn't getting done at one point until I saw the shapes inside the circle. It wasn't as obvious at first, but it went on smoothly after that. Good job on the puzzles!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]