April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Journey of a Blob

by pirate-rob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play in this game as a blob who wants to start a minimalistic life style. Help him get to his new home. the blob can also shrink and grow to go where he needs.

---Post Compo---
Fixed Bookshelves and potato ref. not drawing right.
Fix background in level 5
Made it harder to sufocate (in other words, made grey holes less dangerous)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#264Humor2.72
#372Innovation3.36
#490Mood2.97
#512Fun3.03
#576Overall3.15
#717Graphics2.83
#724Audio2.42
#1123Theme2.85

Comments

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

Cool game mechanic. It's pretty unforgiving sending you back to the start on game over though.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

This has a really sympathetic mood. :) I loved the help signs scattered around, really made the game take care of the player. Only negative thing was the music - only four seconds of music that loops forever. :D

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

Great job, I loved it! The size-switching-concept has great potential.

uprightpath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I could only get through the first level or so (I kept getting slain by the lava). It was great though!

pirate-rob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

And here I was thinking the game was gonna be easy...

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

It look easy until I found that there the deadly pools of lava boiling underground :D. Anyway, the concept of size changing is quite cool, the black grid is in my opinion a bit distracting.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Absolutely brilliant! The level design is fantastic. The only thing lacking is audio but in a way it's kind of relaxing

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

that was fun, but difficult! :)

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:59am

cool graphics!! i loved it! ^-)

dertom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Yeah, that was nice! Good mechanic with changing the size. Had some problems with jumping at the beginning...good job

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:36am

Really hard !

May 2, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Interesting. Grid-based movement & jumping was actually kinda intuitive after a while. Checkpoints before deathtraps please.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

DST says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:24am

Neat mechanic, and quite much content for such short time, the mechanic works well too, it's quite difficult :)

Kvisle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:12pm

My game is about a blob, too!

I didn't understand the grey box-mechanic, and I got stuck by the lava - I didn't find a way to get past.

onzephyr says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Very fun game idea. Fairly challenging. I ended up failing and starting over a good number of times before I figured it out. Well made game.

dannycalleri says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:28am

Nice, even if I don't like the grid you left in the background :D

pirate-rob says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:17am

Eye Death Grid, Attack!

GarethIW says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:33am

Yeah, neat mechanic! Added a lot to the platforming gameplay. Cute graphics too!

ZYXer says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I really like the size-changing idea. :D

Zccc says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I liked it, altough it was weird, it was very fun!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]