April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinHack

by Luis Anton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I fear I won't complete my game for this Ludum Dare. I wanted to create a somewhat minimalistic Hack'n'Slash, reducing it to a basic movement (forward), and a basic fighting system: attack and evasion, based on timing. I made three kind of enemies: a basic grunt (red cube), an archer and a catapult (or well, someone who throws stones).

The fighting system has a simple rule: don't allow them to touch you. Attack by pressing Z. But ff you attack when they attack, both of you lose a life. You may evade melee attacks, arrows and rocks. Evasion consists on pressing Z until you feel safe, or until the evasion time runs out. So you have to time your evasion right in order to be able to do it when you need it!

And well, everything is a cube not because of the minimalistic theme, but just because I left it unfinished. Audio is also broken. But who knows, I may turn it into something playable

I'll add it as an entry, just because it's somewhat playable. It's certainly minimalistic!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I think you have the beginnings of something here. I certainly enjoyed it.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Can you please release a windows-executable(if using unity3d 3.x) or a linux-native-version(unity3d 4.x) so linux-users can also vote for you?

dinos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Very nice game! I love the graphics, and it is minimalistic!

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I have unity player installed but can't run this one, it directs me to the unity player download. :(

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Nice work. I'm really bad at this game, ahahah.

manax says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Doesn't seem to work for me. Unity keeps asking for me to download the player, even though I've just used it for other games... Not sure what's going on.

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Somehow this was fun, even though it was really too hard. A pity that you weren't able to finish it.

Luis Anton says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Sorry for those who were told to reinstall. It's because the s in https in the url! I've just removed it.

May 15, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Seems like a cool idea, but at the moment it's not really playable. Still, it's the idea that counts...!!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]