April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nothing Left

by Gremlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"...perfection is finally attained not when there is no longer anything to add, but when there is no longer anything to take away..."
--Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I took away the buttons.

"Nothing Left" is a no-button vertical-scrolling bullet-hell shooter with procedurally-generated waves of enemies. (It starts getting really exciting after level 5.)

The game is pretty close to the essence of the genre, to the point where you can't actually shoot at the enemies--its all about your dodging skills.

There is one powerup, a shield. The shield decays faster when you are closer to enemies. The length between powerups gets longer every time you choose to pickup a shield. Might not want to grab it unless you need it. Skilled players may find an additional use for the shield.

The only programming tool used was Processing, with BXFR and Audacity for the sound samples. Audio is done entirely via HTML5, so it may not work on your browser, especially if you aren't using a recent update. Oh, and I used OpenSans, which is an awesome san-serif font available under the Apache licence.

I've also posted desktop versions, in case anyone has problems with the web version. The audio hasn't been ported yet, so if you want the sound, try the web version first.

Post what level you get to. I'd like to see how far you can get. (Level 20 gets insane.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#182Fun3.47
#207Theme3.93
#267Overall3.47
#564Graphics3.02
#617Innovation3.05
#684Mood2.75
#744Audio2.39
#863Humor1.83

Comments

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

Awesome game, really like the different shooting patterns of enemies (which lead to some really cool intersecting lines of fire to dodge). Great animations too, like the flash red when taking damage.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

At first I was bored... But playing the game longer removed my boredom from dodging a lot of bullets which made me feel exciting for more... Nice game :D

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

It does get off to a bit of a slow start. I wanted to make sure it wasn't too hard to begin with, but the first few levels may be too easy if you quickly get the hang of it. I generally find that it really starts picking up around level 5.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I think I got to level 7 or something. I have never been very good at bullet hell types of games. But this is a nice idea anyway. :)

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

The bullet patterns looked really neat.
The shield item came up way too often, always appearing just as the last one ran out which completely removed the need to dodge bullets at all. The game was a lot more fun when I didn't pick up the shield at all.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Quite liked it, a good approach to minimalist abstract shooter. The bullet patterns are maybe a bit too chaotic for my taste.

Oh I like this st-expuery quote soooo much. Always try to apply it to whatever I do :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Oh man, this was great! My favorite LD26 entry so far. Loved the variety in attack patterns. That really kept my interest.

My one frustration with the controls was when I wanted to dodge at the edge of the playfield. If you move your mouse off the playfield, even by one pixel, you come to a dead stop. Not even sure if you could do anything about that... but it's really just a minor gripe.

I'd love to tell you how far I got, but there was no game over screen or anything to know... and I didn't have any time during the game to look up at what level I was on... I was busy dodging bullets!

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Very nice and super smooth!

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Yeah, at the top of the list of features that should probably be added is a game over screen. I'll probably make a post-compo version with that tweak.

I was concerned that the shield was overpowered, especially early on, so I tried to balance it out by putting each successive shield further apart. If you pick one up early, you might not be able to find one later when you really need it.

The stopping-at-the-edge thing seems to be a browser-behavior issue, since the desktop version doesn't do that. I may try to edit the raw javascript to change it at some point...

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

That was alot of bullets. Very smooth and nicely done.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

For those of you who have played and rated the game already, I've posted that start of some post-Ludum-Dare changes based on the feedback I've gotten. Shields are harder to get, the difficulty curve has been tweaked, and there's an actual game over screen so you can see your score!

http://isaackarth.com/games/minimalism/current.html

If you haven't rated the game yet, play the compo version first.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

<a href="http://isaackarth.com/games/minimalism/current.html">Post-Compo-Version</a>

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Eh, you get the picture.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46am

Still managed to squeeze in a bit of Mondrian influence. I like this concept a lot, good work.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Very nice. Very simplistic. Awesome use of Theme. Very nicely done. Found the "other" use for the shield ;)

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

I think you got "minimalism" perfect. Totally craving fast-paced music to go along with it, but it's a pretty solid bullet hell game.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45am

If I could compose the music I would have added it. But, then again, it's a little more minimalistic without.

That said, I already have some music picked out if decide to add some to a future version...it's by a minimalist composer, of course.

OU GDA says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00am

Great use of the theme. Overall, it's a great game!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

Really liked this. Found myself entering into a bit of trance-like mode while playing this. Well done!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15am

Very good fun, i liked it alot!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37am

Very cool. It was very satisfying to see the screen full of bullets and to knock them back at the enemies! I also loved the visual style. It was very cleverly executed so that I could always tell what everything was.

However, the game seemed almost too easy. I would just lurk at the bottom of the screen until a shield came along and then I'd quickly clear out all enemies with no trouble. A shield was always ready when I needed it and there wasn't really any challenge. It needed something to spice things up a bit, I think.

Still, very impressive procedural game and it was awesome to see all the projectiles fly!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

This game is fun, a thing I would change is putting a score screen when you die and instructions. Once you understand how it works its cool Good Luck!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

I thought I had a pretty good score going, but it goes away immediately after you die. Ah well. An easy way to skip the first 7 or 8 levels is to park your guy in the top right corner and sit there.

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:45pm

This is a pretty fun game; it was nice to experiment with different ways of using the shield/dodging. I think the shield was more helpful, especially with how it could knock back bullets, I'm not too good at controlling anything with the mouse, though, so I could only get to level 6 or 7;;
Overall, you did a pretty good job~

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Wow. Great concept and idea. Makes a nice game. Fits the theme. Well done.

FunByJohn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17am

I'm not one for bullet hell games, but I think this is an awesome execution of the minimalism theme - it stays true to its core of minimalism, and theres a certain beauty to it as you get in to the later levels; and you start getting those huge waves of bullets.

It's crazy that you produced such a polished game in this short amount of time, with randomly generated waves :D congrats yo :D

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46am

The game screams good use of minimalism.

I loved the game,its simple, yet refined, graphical style, and the procedural enemies. As with the others, the random generation makes for some interesting patterns and gameplay.

I would have loved it better if you could control the player using the keyboard, though. I couldn't do the maneuvers I wanted to execute due to the (over?) sensitivity of the mouse. D:
I guess I'm just more used to controlling players in bullet-hell-esque games with the keyboard, though, so take this with a grain of salt.

Also, I tried running the Windows 32-bit version of the game, but nothing happened when I ran it. :O javaw.exe runs, but nothing seems to happen after about 30 seconds. I'm on Win7 32bit with JRE 7 Update 21.

Gremlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Whoops! The fonts weren't automatically included. I should have expected that. The Desktop versions should work now, though they still don't have sound. Unfortunately, so far I've only been able to test the Windows version. (OSX: Please read both the readme files!)

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:33am

Yeah I liked this one, bullet hell and no way to get out of it! :)

larb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Really cool. Great visuals.

rezzish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:38pm

That played really smooth. Once I figured out how the shield worked I started tearing it up.

brodavi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:38pm

An absurdly fun game. More fun than it has any right to be. Short but sweet. I love the "shooting" mechanic.

Misael.K says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:30am

Haha, great game! Great take on bullet-hell shooters. I specifically enjoyed the health recovery mechanic, it's a good twist.
What I missed:
* I wanted to be a circle! Just to be different from the enemies. (shield could've also been another shape, to further differentiate good from bad)
* Music!
* A pause after I die so I can see my final score. (which you included in your "post compo" version, noted)
* A level selector (or a "continue from last level" or "last [Modulo 10] level").
* Optional keyboard control.
I'm nitpicking with most of these because this is a great game all in all. Congrats!

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice game :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:06am

Great, The feeling look like shoot the bullet. YOU CANNOT DEFEND YOURSELF.

zkenshin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I also really liked the enemies shooting patterns, as well as the deflect back mechanic for defending yourself with the pickup. Nice take on the genre. :)

Cyboot says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nice game, I enjoyed playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]