April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Levels

by rujo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

this game is so minimal that you dont even have to get to the game level to play

use arrow keys to move

your name is V and you have to catch the yellow I(s) while escaping from evil red L and E

potatoes included


made with Construct 2 in about 8 hours


little update:
someone told me that the game is impossible to finish without the possibility to continue from the last screen.
no its not! I finished it today (for the first time) and i added a video to show you that is possible!
come on! you can do it!! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#107Theme4.09
#170Humor3.04
#217Fun3.40
#251Innovation3.52
#283Overall3.45
#314Audio3.11
#420Mood3.07
#669Graphics2.89

Comments

Are says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:21pm

amazing :D i love it :)

iiechapman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01am

Once I "got" it, it all clicked, amazing job man!

Tanius says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07am

Nice idea! :D

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Nice!

Ace says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

Nice game, though you can get completely stuck on the blocks really easily.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Good idea! Maybe a little bit frustrating.

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

Bit scary for a first level, fun once you get the hang of it though :)

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

I like it! Remind me the Atari 2600 or other Amstrad CPC of my childhood! Thanks for the fun.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

Really cool! Though the music burns my ear holes a little bit, the game is very well done.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Well Done! I loved it :)

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

Very creative.

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58am

The voting system needs a grade for potato, you included potato thus i would have graded you positively

The sfx are awesome, particularly when you pass a level. What did you make the sfx in?

This is the most addictive LD I've played yet, very well done

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Nice!

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

@erdos
yeah we'd totally need a potato grade for voting! hehe
for the sfxs they're all made with the suggested BFXR (http://www.bfxr.net/)
for that sound in particular i obtained it by clicking a hundred times on the "randomize" button until i found exactly what i was looking for :)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

It fits the theme nicely

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

lol, yeah totally insta-died the first time- good stuff! See you used Construct 2 as well; used it for the first time this weekend. Think it'll be at least a prototyping tool for future design work.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

I like this game... Great use of texts for the objects, it was a good idea for a minimal game. The audio really fits this game, feels like playing the classic 8bit games :D ...

Zhrack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

fun and challenging!

donan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Good idea :D
Really minimalist and original

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Clever but a bit too frustrating. I'll try again later and see if things get better after the beginning

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Once I realised what was going on it became quite addictive. Good audio feedback, it works really well with the art style. Good job!

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Nicely done! Great little game and fits right with the game.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Very cool game idea :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Such a unique idea using the level information as the bits of the level! I really liked that aspect of it. I could see this becoming a lot more interesting if expanded upon...

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Excellent! Great idea for the theme.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:42am

cool game

Lidfrid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

I really like this concept! It's too much easy to be slowed by those blue rectangles.. it's a pity for that :(

Btw great game! :)

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Nailed the retro look and feel perfectly. Although getting to level 8 and dying stupidly made me want to throw my laptop through a wall ;)
Great, infuriating entry :)

Volute says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:57pm

You used to form a word together... and now they're your enemies !! Very cool entry :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Wow this is super simple, yet fun as hell!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Really like the concept of redefining the elements of the level screen. Good use of the theme. Congratulations!

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Very original game!, i love it, but difficult!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:35pm

This game is really minimalistic and I think this could be the winner. But it takes a while to get used to the controls.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I really like how you used the theme. You exemplified getting the maximum effected out of a few objects. Nicely done... I couldn't make it past level 7 :(

pereubu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

waw, best use of the theme so far D:

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:06am

8 hours ! Amazing!

robmozart says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:59pm

I like your interpretation of the theme. Great job : )

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:02am

I hate randomized levels because of relying ONLY on luck and not on my SKILLS.
But this is really awesome minimalistic game. I like how you play around the theme =)
Excellent work, dude!

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:30am

Hah! Awesome. The presentation was flawless - I kinda wish I could start on the last level I played, 'cause I'm really bad at this and can't get past the first couple levels, but it's very fun.

bramvq says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:40pm

very cool game, i like it.

evilDan says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:52am

Freakin' incredible! Very very satisfying :D

naufr4g0 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Awesome game! It's very difficult sometimes but it makes you start over and go further.
Really original idea. :)

infernet89 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:26pm

A little bit repetitive, each level looks quite the same (despite number of | and randomness of explosion), but it's a nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]