April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Something Has Changed

by nixeldev - Jam Entry

I've taken the theme Minimalism to heart. The graphics, the gameplay, the audio, all simplistic and clean. No complex instructions or goals, just pure game.

But that's not to say there's nothing to this game. It's an experimentation of sorts with gameplay and mechanics. A look at how even the simplest of games can be greatly impacted by alterations to it's rules.

I've tried not to hold anyone's hand through the experience, the discovery of what to do and how things have changed are core to the game's premise.

Unfortunately I was unable to translate successfully the controls, which utilise mobile multi-touch, over onto desktop so this is a mobile only game. Designed on the iPad, this game gives the best experience on a tablet.

I've uploaded the Android .apk file for Ludum to my dropbox. I will in the next few days upload to both google play and the ios app store and will add the links here as and when they're available.

There is also an audio bug I'm aware of which stops the background music from playing during gameplay on the Android targets. Which is a shame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Theme(Jam)4.20
#177Innovation(Jam)3.27
#311Fun(Jam)2.80
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Cool use of multi-touch, got completely thrown out by the axis switch.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Ok, before my review: Yayy! This is my first LD where I actually have a phone I can try out mobile games with!
Now that that's done, this is pretty great! It is very minimalistic, and it is quite out of the ordinary to introduce rules with so little information about them. I can see what you mean when you say it's better on a tablet, but I played it with two thumbs on my phone and it was just fine. I can't get far enough to tell if it ever ends, though.

nonatomicpaul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30am

Minimalism to the letter! loved it :-) Genius game play mechanic.

mikeysee says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice work :)

May 1, 2013 @ 10:11am

I love seeing ambitious new concepts for mobile games. :)

That said, I had a difficult time with this one because of these issues:

1. The colored boxes are smaller than my thumbs, so I never can tell just which thumb is which color

2. Moving my thumb to the very edge of the screen counts as stopping a touch. It might be best if objects don't spawn there.

3. My thumbs obscure the path of the flying objects, so I can't really see what I'm doing or where I need to move which fingers.

On the other hand, the game's use of audio was stellar and it did a great job of setting a mood. Those qualities give it a certain character and with a different set of gameplay considerations could be a strong idea.

myachin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:20am

have no android(

AlexFili says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I like the use of multi-touch, it sets this game apart from the other Ludum Dare entries. The swapping of the axis was a clever feature and the flying collectables were randomised well. One issue I had was that it was tough to move my fingers too quickly or I would inadvertently let go and lose the game. I experienced some lag in the game but that is probably due to my phone's weedy processing power. Overall this is an enjoyable game that fits the theme well.

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Cool idea, took me a minute to figure it out, mainly because i couldnt see the color of the squares under my fat fingers lol. But overall nice game :)

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Good game. Nice and simple.
My phone getting confused over the multi-touch didn't help though.

May 9, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Android-Only? Ballsy choice!

tudd says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Loved the "aww, no!" loss screen :D

And I laughed when the x axis reversed. You weren't expecting a game about squares to rate high in "Humor", were you? :P

@everyone who wants a windoze build: how do you handle two cursors? two mice?

May 18, 2013 @ 10:00pm

The axis switch is wayyy to difficult D: But I loved the idea and use of the theme!

nixeldev says ...
May 23, 2013 @ 10:34am

This is now up on the iPad App Store :) http://bit.ly/somethinghaschanged

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]