April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Space

by Thomas Bowker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ten Space is a simple but stylised action rhythm game.

Listen to the geometry and match their patterns to survive.

I had some time to implement some online features so be sure to check them out as well!

The game is very hard, and I wanted to keep it this way. Ludum Dare games are usually given a very short attention time and didn't want to waste anyones :).

Controls:
Left and Right arrow keys to deflect incoming geometry, but only when it's _close_ to you and inside the hexagon zone. You also will have to match the _colour_ of the incoming projectile to deflect it correctly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#102Audio3.58
#153Theme4.00
#173Mood3.43
#271Graphics3.48
#283Overall3.45
#352Innovation3.39
#383Fun3.17
#998Humor1.60

Comments

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

Good idea and implementation. Gets more challenging as time goes on. I like it!

Winterblood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Solid design, nicely polished, good sound! It's REALLY hard from the start though - partly because the physical layout of the shapes is a red herring. I'd have preferred a gentle build-up with shapes that are conveniently arranged in sequence to get the player used to the mechanic before shuffling them randomly.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05am

Arrrgh! I don't get it! How do I play?

Thomas Bowker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

Ah! Yes I was worried if teaching would be an issue. Should have found someone to playtest. Basically press the left and right keys and match the colour of the projectile coming down toward your shape, and once it is inside the hexagon hit the correct key. I'll try and add some more informative text.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I wish I knew how to get past the title menu :( Screenshots look nice though!

Nambew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

The first a press enter my name and press Enter, the game don't start, after reloading the page it's working.

The idea is great and the game is fun. The game is really simple to play, only two buttons, but become more tricky with time. Good work.

Farfin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I like that it sounds like close encounters of the third kind. It's like high stakes close encounters.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Extremely elegant design.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:09am

Very challenging take on an established mechanic. Minimalistic, but challenging. But perhaps too challenging.

Zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

oh man I love this. great aesthetic and ambiance. the simon-says gameplay is awesome.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

really good concept, I like it a lot.

itsZN says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Fun, but hard to stop multiple things that happen around the same time

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Oh wow, this is difficult. I was playing the web version and I don't know if there was some latency or something. It took me about seven tries to figure out what the basic mechanic was, and then I was only able to pass the first level. The second level I played had like seven shapes, and then they'd all fire, but the last two delayed for like a second.

The tolerance for error is also really, really tight - if the shape isn't right on the barrier, you'd miss (the game says, "In the zone" but it's more like "activating the shield" to deflect them).

The fact that the notes didn't correspond to left/right, and how the shapes randomly appeared gave this game a really, really hard learning curve.

WIth some tuning, and more gradual ramping up in difficulty I can see this being really cool though. I really did give this game a shot, played like 10 or 15 times to try to get it but my mind can't wrap around it :(

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Really clever game, and it fits the theme perfectly. Great job!! :)

peaveyj says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:41am

This is so cool! At first, I thought, "This is a bit hard to start off." And then I got it through my head, that I just needed to match the rythm (duh). This is the best Simon Says implementation ever.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:43am

the sound and animations in this are super satisfying, really well done

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:51am

Awesome. One of my favourite games in Ludum Dare so far. Love the mechanics and aesthetic. Wonderful.

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:57am

The timing is brutal! It took me a while to figure out i really wanted to press the arrows when the shapes hit the edge of the outer box, not when they're inside. The graphic design is very nice and it looks like it would work well on a phone. Definitely enjoyable!

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:36am

This is fantastic. Well done. I was confused at first about how to play, but a couple of attempts and I figured it out. The audio cues are spectacular. The only thing I'd change is that once the screen starts to fill up, it becomes hard to see the projectiles, since they're obscured. The audio cues let you know the spacing between projectiles, but not the moment that the first on will arrive, and often the speed paired with the small clearing makes it really easy to miss that first one. Otherwise excellent entry. Good luck!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:39am

Overall pretty fun, online features made it competitive and interesting. Managed to get in the top 10, guess I can live with that for now ;)

Some criticisms: the sounds didn't always intuitively match up with the arrow keys. I would almost prefer it was something like if the pitch goes down, press left, if it went up, press right, not sure if that would make the game too easy. Or maybe in higher difficulties use all four arrow keys. Sometimes the screen would become really clustered and it would be hard to predict when the shapes were going to be in the zone to press the keys. Maybe some different sounds other than the current ones to switch it up sometimes.

Interesting take on the theme, I think it worked out pretty well. And you even mentioned to get a leaderboard up and running, all in 48 hours. Well done.

baldwinthree says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:40am

Loved it! I'm pretty terrible - only got to the 9th or so level - but it's very clean, looks great, and plays great.

Aceria says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:44am

I know you said you wanted it to be hard, but this is like driving up a cliff.

At first I didn't notice the corresponding colours on the arrows so I didn't have a clue why I was missing the objects, but when I worked out that I got through to the third level.

Interesting... It's got potential, but better tutorial information or earlier levels would make this much easier. For example, a first level where you only have to repel triangles and then a level with only squares would get across the idea in ten seconds, saving on a longer period of frustration.

Good implementation and it fits the theme well, and good audio too.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Good job, but i think that is very difficult.

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Oh man, that's so much fun. Simple, original and satisfying to ping those shapes :P

Sebastian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Very nice, managed to get 530 after a bit of trying. I would like it if your score was displayed on the game over screen though (maybe replace the game title with the score after the initial load)

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:09am

Good mechanics and well designed. A bit too hard, tho!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]