April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Destiny

by GibTreaty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal -
Fight enemies, gain resources and make yourself items. The goal is to rescue the princess.

Controls -
Attack - Left Mouse Button
WASD / Arrow Keys - Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#81Graphics4.00
#256Audio3.21
#283Overall3.45
#309Mood3.19
#470Fun3.08
#679Innovation2.97
#847Theme3.23
#863Humor1.83

Comments

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55am

I think I won :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

What a great little system. I kind of wish there were more things to craft, but then it wouldn't be minimalist. Great polish.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

I keep wishing there was more to this lovely game :)

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Stabbing guys is so hard!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

Very Nicely Done!

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Love the art style, music, movement, but it won't attack when I hit the left mouse button! Using Safari on Mac.

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really well done, I love the simplified resource/gear system. The floatiness of the camera gave me a bit of a hard time.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

Very beautiful. Sounds and looks great. Aim and camera control on the mouse cursor was minimalistic, but kind of awkward. A++

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Really great graphics and gameplay!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

IT's got a unique style abut it! Love it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

aaaarghh -- i cant hit anything -- i really love the artwork -- shame i cant play it

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22am

Fun little game. It wasn't clear to me at first that I had to equip the stuff I picked up at the start (Or how to equip the stuff), but after that it was very fun. :)

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

You need to explain that you need to equip the sword.

You should reconsider updating the world with more things!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

I love this.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Hmmm.. Not bad. And not end? After I defeat the boss this is the end, right?

GibTreaty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25pm

@ronsho Did you get the sword first? If you did then I don't know what to say, I use Windows.

@Meep I wanted players to "learn" what to do on their own after realizing that they can't get past the first enemy.

@SaintHeiser and Maravian (first post)
Yea, after you beat the big purple boss that's the end. You can then proceed to attack the princess as much as you want, lol.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25am

This is really cool! Interesting timing based combat mechanic and the graphics are very slick. Nice work!

Skoggy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:45am

So yeah, that sword looks like something else...

ataxkt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00am

Took me too long to realise you could select the GUI. Damn. Still, excellent game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I chopped the princess. She did not die. Love the game!

GibTreaty says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:03am

I'd love to make a bigger version of this game although I absolutely SUCK at level design. I used ProBuilder to build the single level that's in this and that would help me make more but how on earth do you come up with lots of levels? It probably needs a story first, then everything else will fall into place....

cwilloughby says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:56am

Here because of the 10s video. Very cool. Love the perspective and art. Looks gorgeous. Fighting was a bit hard - I kept dying in the second room. Great work!

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Nice game. Unfortunately running unity games in Wine doesn't render fonts which made it interesting...

lotusgame says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:38am

Fighting controls are a bit imprecise, making fights too risky. But the graphics, the universe, the minimalism... are fantastic ! Bravo :)

joshimoo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good job.

I like the graphics + overall mood of the game.
The crafting system is interesting and would allow for more expansion.

my only criticism would be that the camera feels a little to floaty.

Jonapulse says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:10pm

The look of it is really good. I thought the fighting could use more control--it was hard to predict how fast the enemy was able to stab.

GibTreaty says ...
May 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I'm working on a story for this game and try to make it into a full game.

Any updates I'll post here https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gib-Treaty-Projects/338181696279416?ref=hl

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]